Notices
Reply

Thread: TopText link embedded in web page

 
Tools Search
  #1  
Old February 4th, 2003, 02:38 PM
ABW Adviser Panel
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Elstow, UK
Posts: 5,461
This is a strange sort of site to use as an example - but look at http://www.transplantfortammie.com/ - almost at the bottom.

There's a TopText link actually in the page itself. It's there no matter how I look at it, in IE, NS4 and even the DOS-based Lynx browser.

Is this a case of a parasite somehow infected a web editor? Or is there a simpler explanation?

________
Please leave my port 137 alone.
  #2  
Old February 4th, 2003, 03:13 PM
ABW Founder
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 21,651
Send a message via AIM to Haiko de Poel, Jr.
Moo,

I'd assume so since it is hard coded into the html

<font size="2" face="Verdana">Haiko


The secret of success is constancy of purpose. ~ Disraeli
</font></p>
  #3  
Old February 4th, 2003, 04:50 PM
Newbie
Join Date: January 17th, 2005
Posts: 14
If someone was infected with Ezula/Toptext and viewed a page, then saved that page, or a selection from that page, could that cause this?

Very strange.
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #4  
Old February 4th, 2003, 08:01 PM
ABW Founder
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 21,651
Send a message via AIM to Haiko de Poel, Jr.
Good hypothesis Pricezilla! That could be it!

<font size="2" face="Verdana">Haiko


The secret of success is constancy of purpose. ~ Disraeli
</font></p>
  #5  
Old February 4th, 2003, 08:18 PM
Schlaumeier
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Fresno/CA
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to cumbrowski
It looks like a copy and paste from the yahoo directory from somebody who has eZula installed.

The Page source looks like a MS Frontpage or MS Word generated Page, no wonder...

Carsten

Shop-Links.net Partner
http://www.shop-links.net
Sign-up for our Affiliate Program
http://www.shareasale.com/shareasale.cfm?merchantID=2123

If you can't move things, try harder!
  #6  
Old February 4th, 2003, 10:48 PM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: January 17th, 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 642
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by PriceZilla.com:
If someone was infected with Ezula/Toptext and viewed a page, then saved that page, or a selection from that page, could that cause this?

Very strange.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That'd be my guess too. Looking at the code the top lines are:

< !DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN" >
< !-- saved from url=[0031)http://transplantfortammie.com/ -- >
< HTML >< HEAD >< TITLE >Kidney Transplant For Tammie< /TITLE >

A wishbone has never taken place of a backbone.
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #7  
Old February 5th, 2003, 08:12 AM
ABW Adviser Panel
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Elstow, UK
Posts: 5,461
I think I see it.. those Yahoo! links in the bottom are copied straight from the web page and pasted into that one.. they still have the Yahoo tracking code in. It must have copied-and-pasted the TopText code in too.

________
Please leave my port 137 alone.
Reply

Tools Search
Search:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Software is Removing entire CJ text Links from affiliate sites? Fer Commission Junction 88 September 15th, 2003 05:25 PM
Track LS Sales to Page and/or Link jimbet7 Rakuten LinkShare 10 August 20th, 2002 02:36 PM
Tiger - Link Exchange Page !! Andy Rodriguez TigerDirect.com 8 June 20th, 2002 12:15 AM


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.