|  » Forgot your password?
Join

Notices

Hello and help! :-)

Tools Search
Old
Hello and help! :-)

Howdy all,

My name is Tim, I'm from Brighton Colorado, which is about 20 miles northeast of Denver. While I'm not new at web development, (I own a small, which is to say a one man shop) web development firm, I am VERY new at the idea of affiliate marketing and have some questions, but first I'll tell a little about myself so you'll know how I got here.

I was born in... just kidding, I won't go that far back :-). I've had a few different careers and fell into working on the Internet about 9 years ago. I was doing outside sales in the automotive parts industry when the company I was working for over extended themselves and had to lay off people all across the country... I was one of the lucky ones in Denver. A friend and his wife were selling collectibles on the Internet, (alot on a popular auction site that I won't name). He told me that I could make a lot of money selling collectibles online, working for myself. At the time, I was tired of working for someone else, so I thought I would give it a try.

It worked pretty well, so well in fact that after about 2 3/4 years I worked my way out of my marriage... almost 20 hours a day, 7 days a week isn't real conducive (sp?) to a healthy relationship... found that out the hard way.

Did I mention that when I started down this road (the collectibles business), I didn't own a computer, had never been on the Internet and didn't know HTML from shinola? But I bought some books and taught myself HTML and developed 10 sites for the collectibles biz. What I found out over that 2 3/4 years, was that I kind of enjoyed developing web sites. By the time her and I split, I was pretty tired of collectibles myself, so after her and I split, I decided to change venues and develop web sites for other people.