Close

Login to Your Account

|  » Forgot your password?

Notices

New Affiliate - Using web2.0 and social aggregator technologies

Tools Search
Old
New Affiliate - Using web2.0 and social aggregator technologies

(I know, those a buzz words in the title but they really do describe my current projects

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the board but have been in the online marketing space for over ten years. I got my start with Mosaic on Windows 3.1 During the day I work for a large online advertising agency working with the largest brands in the world.

Outside of my day job, I also run a popular green home building blog and up to this point have only ran adsense on it. I have been running this blog for almost five years now.

I have always had a real passion/interest in affiliate marketing and my interest increased when I attended the past couple of SES conferences and met some great people in the industry.

I joined the board today to finally dive into affiliate marketing and become serious about it.

For the past 10 days or so, I have began to further develop (and extend) a piece of software that was recently released by another advertising agency (not the one that I work with). It's open source software with a very open license. The software is a web2.0 - aggregation engine. The site works in conjunction with a number of robots that are programmed to seek out keywords in multiple sources (such as Facebook, Twitter, Google Blogs, Youtube, etc). It then combines them into one single page and presents it to the viewer as an auto-updating stream of information, specially focused on one topic/niche.

I have been able to use my SEO experience to kick 3 sites off and generate a bit of traffic. Without revealing URL's or niches here is a breakdown of how it's gone so far:

Site 1
------
Online for 4 Days
21,123 Hits
3,643 Pages
Avg: 910 Pages/Day
3 Affiliates / No conversions

Site 2
------
Online for 6 days
9,290 Hits
2,087 Pages
Avg: 347 Pages/Day