Close

Login to Your Account

|  » Forgot your password?
Join

Free Template Vs. Professional Site Design

Tools Search
Old
Free Template Vs. Professional Site Design

A friend of mine asked me for an honest suggestion. He is on a tight budget so needs to prioritize his spending. Now, I’m a web designer and I have never liked website templates but could they possibly be appropriate for his particular needs? He's a small business owner that wants web exposure for his small brick and mortar business.

Now, he hasn’t discarded trying to monetize on the site’s internet potential later on, be it through Adsense, PPA programs, AzoogleAds, etc. We talked about that. But for now he just wants it to help drive traffic to his brick and mortar business.

He is thinking of using one of the free website templates found at clickfire.com (No, I definitely have no relationship with this site nor had I even heard of it ‘til just recently).

My question is?

Do any of you have experience with Free Website Templates?

How do you feel about them?

How do you feel they look?

Are they truly valid?

Are they a good option for the affiliate marketer (my personal inquiry)?

Are they truly SEO friendly?

I’m trying to be positive but critical here. He can outsource his web design needs to someone like me or anyone else for that matter but my point isn’t to gain business at the expense of a friend. He has the option of investing on a website or using a website template to save money which will be invested on other needs the business currently has.

I do however want to give him sound advice. Should his investment go towards a good custom built website or towards upgrading machinery, hiring employees, etc.?
Old
The Seal of Aproval