Welcome, guest!  |   Login  |  
Close

Login to Your Account


  |  » Forgot your password?
Join

Thread: Warning - Yahoo IM Virus/Scam

 
Tools Search
  #1  
Old August 13th, 2007, 10:09 PM
The slot machine that IS paid!
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 5,202
Send a message via AIM to Billy Kay Send a message via Yahoo to Billy Kay
If you get a Yahoo IM from one of your buddies that says

geocities dot com picc_zz1/ index.htm
check it out...

DON'T CLICK IT!

Near as I can tell, it then goes to your own buddy list and sends that same IM to everyone on your own list

Then... you get logged out of Yahoo with a message saying "You were logged out because you just logged in on a different computer"

aargh
__________________
http://billykaymusic.com
  #2  
Old August 13th, 2007, 11:12 PM
The slot machine that IS paid!
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 5,202
Send a message via AIM to Billy Kay Send a message via Yahoo to Billy Kay
i got this from zdnet

Quote:
Yahoo Instant Messenger has been used to spread a phishing scam designed to steal username and password information from users. The scam is then spread further using the user's contacts list.

First detected on Friday in the US, the IM arrives from someone in your contact list with a link to a Geocities Web page and smiley faces surrounding the link. When clicked on, the link opens a page that looks like a legitimate Yahoo 360 sign-in page.

Yahoo is investigating the matter and will take down the Geocities Web site if it is perpetrating a scam, a Yahoo spokeswoman said. Geocities is Yahoo's free Web space service. Yahoo also will add filters to the Messenger system to prevent the malicious link from being propagated, she said.

Phishers often use smiley faces and other emoticons to make the victim feel that the IM is safe. Geocities sites are often used in phishing scams. Such scams are not new and are becoming increasingly more common.

IM users should not blindly trust links they receive even if the link comes from a trusted source or friend. Users should confirm that the person behind the IM account actually sent the link and that it is legitimate.

If you are duped, immediately change your password and notify your Yahoo IM contacts about the malicious IM. Yahoo users also can customize their Yahoo log-in page with a security seal so they will know that the site is legitimate.
__________________
http://billykaymusic.com
  #3  
Old August 13th, 2007, 11:14 PM
Outsourced Program Manager
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 153
Yeah, wish I had seen this about 20 minutes ago. Already changed my password though when it said I was logged off due to being logged on on another computer.
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #4  
Old August 14th, 2007, 01:47 AM
Sue Sue is offline
Sue's Avatar
Staril - Mad Cat Woman
Join Date: December 12th, 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,310
Thanks for the warning Billy. I had woke up to 2 open windows with this but read your warning before I had touched them.


Sue.
  #5  
Old August 14th, 2007, 03:33 AM
Full Member
Join Date: January 17th, 2005
Posts: 284
Got it from loxly and just clicked the link...grrrrrrr

Just kept sending me to the login page which I thought was rather odd...

Already changed my passwords.. thanks for posting
__________________
CharPaula
Staying focused on the bottomline
  #6  
Old August 14th, 2007, 09:37 AM
http and a telephoto
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 17,704
Send a message via Yahoo to loxly Send a message via Skype™ to loxly
Not sure how it is sending because I was away from the computer and came home to about 12 yahoo windows open with the link in it. I never clicked it. I also had 4 messages telling me not to click it. Thanks to Billy and the other 3 folks for the warning
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #7  
Old August 14th, 2007, 10:23 AM
The slot machine that IS paid!
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 5,202
Send a message via AIM to Billy Kay Send a message via Yahoo to Billy Kay
Quote:
Got it from loxly and just clicked the link...grrrrrrr
As I understand it... you didn't get it from Loxly, you got it from someone who has Loxly in their buddy/contact list

And the Yahoo login screen that appears? It's just a standard mail-to form. So if you changed your password, the person didn't have time to login and get to your list.

But I'm no expert on this stuff.
__________________
http://billykaymusic.com
  #8  
Old August 14th, 2007, 10:41 AM
MasterMike
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 3,813
Whats rule number 1 of IMing and Emailing?

NEVER EVER CLICK LINKS OR ACCEPT FILES WHEN YOU AREN'T EXPECTING THEM

All of you just violated that rule, go stand in the corner for 10 seconds
  #9  
Old August 14th, 2007, 10:48 AM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: October 9th, 2006
Posts: 558
Send a message via AIM to AffiliateSummitMissy
Hey everyone,

I'm not sure if this is related but I got a similar message a couple of minutes ago on AIM from an AIM address that could actually look official (AOL SYSTEM MESSAGER) with basically the same type of message.

If it is the same thing, I'm glad that I read this post before I clicked on it

-Missy
__________________
Shine on,


Missy Ward

Co-founder of Affiliate Summit, FeedFront Magazine , GeekCast.fm & itsaWAHMthing.com
Co-Publisher of Revenews.com and Revenews.org
Founder of AffiliateMarketersGiveBack.com Personal Blog: MissyWard.com
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #10  
Old August 14th, 2007, 12:08 PM
MasterMike
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 3,813
All the Messengers have them, AIM, Yahoo, MSN

people are wise to their tricks via email so they go after you via IM.

Even via PM on forums.
Reply

Tools Search
Search:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yahoo building websites dedicated to the 100 hottest entertainment brands. Trust Search Engine Optimization 0 January 31st, 2007 04:56 AM
Yahoo Class Action Settlement Email Leader Search Engine Optimization 23 September 7th, 2006 07:22 PM
Got this email newsletter concerning yahoo Roland Midnight Cafe' 6 March 6th, 2004 12:59 AM
Yahoo! buys Overture Affiliate Midnight Cafe' 0 July 14th, 2003 08:29 AM
Why aren't I rich??? SSanf Midnight Cafe' 38 June 17th, 2002 10:15 PM

X

Welcome to ABestWeb.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

ABestWeb.com is the largest affiliate marketing community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?



Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.