Notices
Reply

Thread: Are they still considered parasites?

 
Tools Search
  #1  
Old August 13th, 2008, 03:44 PM
Affiliate Manager
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 70
I got an email from them saying that currently the only download they offer now is a toolbar for their members. It does not drop any cookies or contain any affiliate links – it is simply a search tool.

What do you guys think?

Thanks
  #2  
Old August 14th, 2008, 01:40 PM
Affiliate Manager
Join Date: June 18th, 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9
Hello! I have an affiliate that applied to our program, with this url: The webpage looks like a parked domain, but the first link and ad is:
MyPoints™ - Earn Rewards
Earn Rewards for Shopping Online. Join MyPoints™ Free Today.
MyPoints.com

Do you think that this particular affiliate is masking his affiliation with MyPoints?
__________________
HollywoodMegaStore

Last edited by Trust; August 14th, 2008 at 02:18 PM.
  #3  
Old August 14th, 2008, 02:15 PM
Affiliate Manager
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 647
If it is a parked domain, the site owner may not have control over what ads show up on the parked site.

Is this the only URL they have provided? If so, you may want to contact them to see what their plans are for the site, reinforce the newly established anti-Parasite policy, etc.

You can keep them pending while you clarify what their plans are and how the plan to promote your company.

Plus, it opens up a line of communication that may be worthwhile long term.

Hope that helps...

Paul
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #4  
Old August 14th, 2008, 02:44 PM
Affiliate Manager
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 70
With all respect. Could we please address the original question?
Thanks
  #5  
Old August 14th, 2008, 03:01 PM
ABW Founder
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 21,651
Send a message via AIM to Haiko de Poel, Jr.
Last I saw they were operating correctly.
__________________
Continued Success,

Haiko
The secret of success is constancy of purpose ~ Disraeli
  #6  
Old August 14th, 2008, 04:43 PM
Affiliate Manager
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 70
Thanks Haiko. That coming from you sure does mean a lot to me.
Thanks
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #7  
Old April 5th, 2010, 02:18 AM
Newbie
Join Date: April 5th, 2010
Posts: 2
MyPoints is still a parasite imo. Their parent company is currently under federal investigation and MyPoints is named for using bad business practices.

The web hosting arm of the parent company is netzero, I dare you to try and find a phone number to talk to someone on that site, impossible UNLESS YOU PAY BY THE MINUTE.

gtfo...
Reply

Tools Search
Search:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Much Do Parasites Affect Affiliates? MichaelColey Midnight Cafe' 89 October 1st, 2007 05:17 PM
Parasites overwriting links happypoon Midnight Cafe' 3 March 17th, 2004 01:34 PM
Latest NYT Article (Jan 20) Kellie aka Ms. B Midnight Cafe' 410 January 22nd, 2003 04:20 PM


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.