Notices
Reply

Thread: Zwinky.com TV commercials. Crapware goes prime time.

 
Tools Search
  #1  
Old May 9th, 2007, 12:01 AM
Internet Cowboy
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 4,677
Is anyone else seeing Zwinky commercials on TV? This is our friends at SmileyCentral reaching out through television to infest more computers with their crapware.
  #2  
Old May 9th, 2007, 12:08 AM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Nunya, Business
Posts: 23,540
Haven't seen them, is it this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jbEZlnl9WQ

Ah, I see it. You can click numerous links on the site, for a download of the toolbar.

This is just the EULA
http://info.zwinky.com/zwinkyinfo/eula.jhtml
  #3  
Old May 9th, 2007, 12:21 AM
Internet Cowboy
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Posts: 4,677
From the EULA
Quote:
We reserve the right to add additional features or functions to the existing Toolbar. When installed on your computer, the Toolbar periodically communicates with our servers. We may require the updating of the Toolbar on your computer when we release a new version of the Toolbar...
Typical auto-updating crapola we have seen for years. Download the cute and fluffy stuff now and they load every adware/spyware program under the sun while you sleep.
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #4  
Old May 9th, 2007, 12:59 AM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: January 17th, 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,587
If I hear that crappy "Get Zwinky!" jingle one more time, I think I'm gonna .
__________________
-Don't criticize anyone til you've walked a mile in their shoes. Then when you do criticize them, you'll be a mile away and have their shoes.
- Silence is golden. Duct Tape is silver.
  #5  
Old May 9th, 2007, 07:46 AM
Ride It Like You Stole It
Join Date: March 25th, 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 882
When I saw the commercial for the first time both my girls were sitting in the room with me and I gave them a nice little lecture about not downloading it.

I have incredimal and it has smilies similar to smily central. It's not the same company is it?
__________________
Be the change you want to see in the world ~ Gandhi
  #6  
Old May 9th, 2007, 08:03 AM
Lite On The Do, Heavy On The Nuts
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 6,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgrsgrl
I have incredimal and it has smilies similar to smily central. It's not the same company is it?
It is the same company, SmileyCentral.
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
  #7  
Old May 9th, 2007, 08:19 AM
Lite On The Do, Heavy On The Nuts
Join Date: January 18th, 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 6,915
And SmileyCentral is owned by FunWebProducts, a total spyware/adware/scumware company.

Learn more here:
http://www.benedelman.org/spyware/in...jeeves-banner/
http://forums.spywareinfo.com/index.php?showtopic=55260

I've never signed up at Azoogle (because I know better), but I do know that Azoogle did manage the affiliate program for FunWebProducts / SmileyCentral... what? a subaffiliate id cpa network not only uses spyware, but pays ignorant affiliates to distribute it? really? big surprise there. :-(

Why the FTC allows spyware companies, their distributors (including folks like ask and azoogle) to thrive and to target kids is beyond disgusting.
  #8  
Old May 9th, 2007, 08:25 AM
Ride It Like You Stole It
Join Date: March 25th, 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donuts
It is the same company, SmileyCentral.
Crap! I liked incredimail cuz it merged all my different e-mail addys and I definitely don't want to support scum/adware!
__________________
Be the change you want to see in the world ~ Gandhi
  #9  
Old June 9th, 2007, 12:15 PM
ABW Ambassador
Join Date: January 17th, 2005
Location: Tropical Mountaintop
Posts: 5,407
I ran across a little snippet of code that might be useful to Php sites. It detects the FunWebProducts toolbar and informs the visitor along with a link to PCTools' removal services.

I don't know if I can post it though because it contains the PCTools URL.

Without the URL it would be ok I think:

Code:
 <?php
if (eregi("FunWebProducts",$HTTP_USER_AGENT)){
  print("<h1>Warning FunWebProducts Browser Hijacker Detected</h1><p>We have detected a suspicious peice of software on your computer. See <a href="http://www.someplace.com/spyware-doctor/" target="_blank">HERE</a> for more information.</p>"); }
?>
Maybe other USER_AGENTS could fit there also?

I hope I'm not in trouble for this, just trying to be helpful.
Join ABW to remove this sponsored message.
Reply

Tools Search
Search:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's official, eBates is now the co-bundle for Morpheus Haiko de Poel, Jr. eBates 7 November 19th, 2003 01:41 PM
Time Of Transaction happypoon Google Affiliate Network 3 August 7th, 2003 07:38 AM


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.