Email I received from WhenU... anybody else?

whatUseek Web Business: Achieve Excellence In Online Business

"Search engine exposure continues to be the linchpin of successful e-commerce. Get listed on them and you greatly increase your chance of succeeding in Web-based commerce. However, to not be widely listed is a virtual kiss of death."

As a webmaster, I know how important promoting your web site is to you. Recently, a wave of new offerings from several major search engines and directories have been surfacing--offerings designed to circumvent the pitfalls of the typical search engine submission process. Most of these services are premium (fee-based) offerings, which can actually be an advantage for those webmasters willing to pay the price of admission--I call this phenomenon "price filtering." Because the *free* submissions cost nothing, they're frequently abused, and often consist of queues of tens of thousands of URLs. Fee-based services, on the other hand, are rarely abused because, in addition to price filtering, human approval and editing of the submission is often involved.

Unfortunately, these premium services can cost $200 or more, and some of them do not let you choose your associated keywords and categories. And the popular pay-per-click campaigns often cost a minimum of $240/year to implement, and sometimes much more if your listing gets clicked on frequently.

The best pound-for-pound premium submission service may be the one that our parent search engine, whatUseek, has recently started offering called "The whatUseek Collection."

http://...

whatUseek is an important network of search properties that has been around since 1996, and has been popular with internet users for years. The whatUseek Collection now uses the second generation of The Collection technology, with greater category exposure and several other exposure enhancements.