Red face Using xml to UPDATE my mySQL database. tricky!
    Hi all,

Right, I am a novice with datafeeds (Aren't we all who create these topics?)

I have a question.

I already have a functioning website using php and mysql. over 700 mydql database entries refer to products available through merchant affiliates.

as the information for these products can change frequently it's important i am able to run a script that automatically does this. now here's the thing...

until now i have simply used regex scripting. now i need to begin using xml datafeeds as afiliates have complained about unwanted noise traffic generated from my frequent regex script updates.

i am a novice. i have no idea where to begin or what to do. i do know every online topic i've read about this relates to taking all info from datafeed and creating a whole new database with the info. i don't want to do that.

I have existing tables with existing pre-set columns. from the datafeeds, i don't need to lift info from every column, just some of them relating to existing mysql database entries and then "UPDATE" them back into my database.

where do i begin?

i'm not asking for someone to write the code on my behalf of course, but i'm asking for someone to explain the process and the method in very VERY basic english. or does a website exist that explains this in a simple basic tutorial? beyond basic php - i am lost!

i really hope someone takes pity on me cos it really will be appreciated!

I can point you in the right direction halifaxer, if you could clarify a few points for me.

1. Do you want to import an xml file into a mySQL table?

2. If so, you want to read this file and then update your existing rows with the changes found on some of the products?

3. Within this xml datafile is there a unique value associated with each item, that you also have stored as a column in your database table?