Front Page Support Is History
    My hosting company has informed me that as of Feb 26th, they will no longer support Front Page Exts on their servers. I knew Microsoft was graveciting the software, but now I need to make the change to another web site building program. I am hoping for some suggestions. Understand, I am a novice web builder who uses tables and builds his pages one at a time.

Suggestions for a decent replacement software would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance...

airstrip
    The best things in life are not things at all...

For me, nothing beats Macromedia Dreamweaver.

It has some very advanced functions I have never used (probly never will), but you can't beat it for straightforward html, tables, css, etc.

Lite On The Do, Heavy On The Nuts Donuts's Avatar
    You can still use FP without the server extensions, there's just some functionaility that you'll lose, like forms. Given the state of hacking, you probably don't want to be using FP's built-in form functionality regardless. So you might consider taking your time before deciding on what to switch to, the cessation of support also forces you to leave the functionality that the server extensions provided anyhow, whether you switch or stay, your urgency lies in replacing / fixing / coding what went away with the server extension functionality, you might be compounding your problem by having to overcome that at the same time you learn how to use a new editing toolset as well.

In any case, good luck to you!

You have two options, either of which will work. One, as Donuts says, is to stop using FrontPage extensions. You can still work on your computer, developing pages and sites, and then when you're ready to upload, use an FTP program instead of FrontPage itself to copy the files to the server.

The other option, if you do need or simply prefer to keep using FrontPage extensions, is to switch to a host that still offers them. We do, and there are many others.