Yup, Sure ... now let me check ... Cagles Mill's Avatar
    Since everyone on this board is involved in making money off the internet, I thought the following story would be of interest.

I am a store manager for one of the major brick and mortar retailers. Yes, the company has a well developed web site and you see their ads all over TV.

In June our CEO gave a presentation during which he shrugged off the dotcom industry saying that the stock market bust of a couple years ago proved that all the hype about the dotcom industry had been wrong and that in fact the internet retailers could not compete with traditional brick and mortar retailers. This all coming from a CEO who 6 months prior to the bursting of the stock market bubble was trying to convince everyone that our company should be properly viewed as an internet company.

I am hesitant to say who this company is, but as things stand now I plan on giving my notice on August 23rd and semi-retire to earning a living off these dotcom commissions. I could also add that for the past several months I have been earning 3 times off the net what I make working 60 hours a week for my traditional retailer. Incidently, you might notice my planned exit date coincides with the day following CJ's monthly direct deposit into my checking account.

Sooooo.... what does everyone think?
    1. Was he just plain lying to us because he was afraid to tell us the truth or
    2. are we all only imagining that we are getting sales on the internet or
    3. Is my company and perhaps other traditional retailers totally out of touch with reality?

"The crowd has no hands." - Soren Kierkegaard

ABW Ambassador
    Your CEO is certainly out of touch with reality. Online sales are one of the few growth areas in retail sales right now.

That pretty much sums everything up.