Affiliate Manager
    direct linking

My name is Deana and I'm new to the Affiliate Management world. I met Haiko at the Affiliate Summit this year and decided I should start posting.

I have heard and read different ideas on direct linking (an affiliate linking from an ad campaign like Google Adwords directly to a page on a Merchants site).

The cons being:
    no control over the ad wording
    trademark bidding
    no control over the quality of traffic they are bringing to the Merchant site

The pros being:
    drive more traffic on the same keywords the merchant is using
    drive other traffic on keywords the merchant search team is not using
    makes affiliates happy

What are some other reasons for allowing or not allowing direct linking? Does it matter on what the Merchant is offering--service or product?

Sunny SoCal
    Hi Deana --

Welcome to the AM world!

On your list of cons, I wouldn't say that direct linking and trademark bidding are necessarily linked -- i.e. an affiliate can direct link based on a generic keyword without using TMs.

You are right about the wording in ads by and large. Nothing worse than the ads that say "Is [merchant/product] a Scam?". You could try to put together suggestions and requirements to address this.

As for quality of traffic, I would say that DTM (direct to merchant) linking would typically be well-qualified traffic. Remember, the PPC affiliate has taken the financial risk by spending money to get that customer to you so it is in their best interest to send good traffic to your site.

On your list of pros, I'm not sure if it would increase traffic based on terms the merchant is using -- unless the merchant's budget does not allow 24/7 coverage. Otherwise, only one ad going to a specific URL (directly or indirectly) will show up at any given time (avoiding what is called "double serving").

The last two pro issues you mention are valid in my opinion.

Some other thoughts: