New and could use some help
    I just decided to start doing affiliate marketing on the internet, but im a bit overwhelmed at the moment. I understand most of the basics of online business; however, the problem I am having is where to start. I'm not sure what products I should promote, and exaclty how to draw traffic to them. There just seems to be so many products and even more people trying to advertise them.

So I guess my question is, how do I decided what products I should use, and how should I go aboud generating leads with such heavy competition.

Any advice would be helpfull, thanks.

Hi Moneycrazed,

That's literally the $64,000 question, isn't it? (or hopefully some other large dollar amount!)

I've been doing the website thing for about 12 years now, and I think my first affiliate link went up in 1999. Even so, I don't consider myself to be an affiliate marketing guru..

..however, I think fundamentally it boils down to having a USP.. a Unique Selling Proposition. In order to make money, you must offer something that no-one else has, or that you can persuade *visitors* that no-one else has.

Sometimes your USP can be a technological one - your site offers something whizzy and impressive coded by someone who actually understands things like SQL and programming languages.

Or, you could use the knowledge inside your head to give a different slant on an existing market. If you're really interested or knowledgeable in a particular field, then you can use that to deliver real insight on products or a market segment. If you don't have the insight, then pick an interesting field and learn about it.