Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    January 2nd, 2008
    Posts
    72
    Standalone Search Box
    Here is how you can do a standalone search box. This requires basic knowledge of how html forms work. This is unsupported, so don't go asking Jessie, because I'll deny I ever told you... and she doesn't know how forms work.

    What you will need:

    1. A page containing a php/asp snippet for a search-enabled shop
    2. Any other page in your site

    Ok, so for this example lets say we have:

    1. search.php, our page with a PopShops snippet
    2. index.php, our home page

    Inside the home page if you want a search box, just add the following:

    Code:
    <form action="search.php">
      <input type="text" name="psps_search" />
      <input type="submit" value="Search" />
    </form>
    Easy peasy.

    Notes:
    * The action for the form should point to the location of the search.php.
    * The search function only searches merchants present in your shop

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    August 4th, 2007
    Posts
    108
    Can you also use style="display:none" to remove non-search items instead of creating a new page?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    January 2nd, 2008
    Posts
    72
    I'm not sure I follow.

    What are you trying to hide with the display:none?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    August 4th, 2007
    Posts
    108
    was just saying you can use stylesheets to hide things if you only want to display the search box.........at least I haven't tried it to confirm, but threw out there

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,744
    Dan - Thanks for the instructions. I just set this up on one of my sites and it works perfectly.

  6. #6
    Member bluewaves1's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 12th, 2007
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    125
    Help in understanding this
    I'm confused.

    Where are you getting the search.php page from?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    January 2nd, 2008
    Posts
    72
    The search.php was just an example. It is just a page you have on your website that you have embedded a PopShops snippet in. It can be named whatever you want, but it is a page you have created.

  8. #8
    Member shopsat24seven's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 3rd, 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    100
    This will search all the merchants for that shop? WOW! Very helpful.

    Is it just the merchants that have products displayed on that page or any that you have filtered in for that shop?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    January 2nd, 2008
    Posts
    72
    It will use the products you have added to the shop to determine what merchants to search.

    So if you manually pick 5 products from five different merchants, it will search those 5 merchants.

  10. #10
    Member shopsat24seven's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 3rd, 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    100
    Thumbs up
    I see. thanks again.

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    February 7th, 2008
    Location
    So. San Francisco
    Posts
    4
    Is there a way to add search terms?
    Very cool. I was wondering if thereís an easy way to add text to the search terms in order to narrow the search. Right now my shops are organized by brand. For a webpage featuring a particular brand, I would like to limit searches to that brand, but when the search is performed the results include all brands the vendors carry. (Iíve tried a couple of things but canít seem to get it to work.)

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador Caseyfern's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2007
    Location
    Yes, sadly I'm in California
    Posts
    518
    Take a look at the discussion about building a dynamic shop and dynamic pages. It's quite simple to implement, and I've taken nearly all of my store into dynamics. If your shop is in PHP, or if you have someone doing your PHP for you, you can be up and running with dynamic shops in minutes.

  13. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    February 7th, 2008
    Location
    So. San Francisco
    Posts
    4
    Thanks fern. Probably a good time to brush up on my php.

  14. #14
    ABW Ambassador writerguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    3,248
    Am I right in saying that this only works for "Enterprise" level PopShops members? Because you can only use the search feature in Enterprise -- is that right?
    Generate more fake news.

  15. #15
    ABW Ambassador Caseyfern's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2007
    Location
    Yes, sadly I'm in California
    Posts
    518
    I'm not really sure if it will work below Enterprise level. I did make a department that had no search chosen in preferences, driving it only from the keyword entries I made available, and it worked fine. I don't know whether that is because of Enterprise level or the query itself.

    I should clarify.. I don't speak PHP either, but I'm very good at blindly following directions

  16. #16
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 5th, 2008
    Posts
    7
    Just got enterprise plan and I think this script is pretty nice but the problem with search is that it doesn't search on all shops so I can make a search on for 100 products approx.

    Will that be possible in the future to make a search that will search on all shops ?

  17. #17
    Member shopsat24seven's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 3rd, 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    100
    Read the full thread above. The search box does not search just the products in the shop, it searches ALL the products for the merchants your pulling products into your shop. So if your shop has products from Sports Authority and FogDog, the search box will search ALL products from their entire inventory.

  18. #18
    Newbie
    Join Date
    November 5th, 2008
    Posts
    7
    Yea just realized that.. thanks

    another question -
    is it possible to make another page for each product ?
    cuz i'm doing PPC and for some specific brands I want visitors to see on my website exactly what they were looking for.


    Yarden.

  19. #19
    Member shopsat24seven's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 3rd, 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    100
    No. Product pages not available. That's the one everyone is really wanting, but haven't heard anything on that.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    August 4th, 2007
    Posts
    108
    The 100 shops is the limit if you want to create "shop" search page where only that page is search enabled...which is the only way to set it up as its own search engine in my pages. Otherwise I can only display search at the top of each individual shop I have, and that is what I do not want to do...................stand alone search doesn't work either because I have to search disable my shops to hide the search box for each shop.........re, see why I was trying to do style="display:none" as mentioned earlier

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    August 4th, 2007
    Posts
    108
    Yarden, I am doing individual category pages right now that work pretty well. There are some minor items I cannot remove because PopShops search builder doesn't support numeric........(another wish list item)..........but if you use advanced search and can drill down what you do and do not want searched, it is possible.............watch out though, like mine I have some that have upwards of 30 search terms to remove from the base search eliminating the non-wanted junk

  22. #22
    Hi,
    The built-in search box show the number of results to the user returned after a keyword search.
    How can I create the similar feature via stand-alone search box?

    Thanks,

  23. #23
    No Longer Banned!
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2008
    Location
    Wilmer, Texas 75172
    Posts
    939
    Popshops Search Box Hack....
    You can scope my hack here

    I spent a few hours on it. Goes beyond the simple hack listed.

    I hope this contributes a little

    Steve
    DreamLinux.net | Registered Linux User 453976 | PM me to view our sites. It's a Google thing.

  24. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. MSN Search Box - Search Your Own Site Box
    By Trust in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 16th, 2005, 07:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •