Affiliate Manager felipe.cortelezzi's Avatar
    Affiliates purchasing my products to obtain more commissions
    Hello, hope you're fine.

I'm an Affiliate Program Manager and lately I'm having the following problem with some of my affiliates:

They buy any of my products through their affiliate ID to obtain more commissions.

There's no problem if they do this once to test our products, but it is ok if they make this mentioned action periodically?

Can somebody please give me an advice?

Thank you,
    Sincerely,
    Felipe Cortelezzi
    Affiliate Manager

If you do not allow self-referral orders, just prohibit it in your program's T's and C's.

I honestly see no big problem with it. You're getting a sale; and you're willing to share a % of your revenue with affiliates on every sale anyway.

BTW, when you say they do it to "obtain more commissions", do you mean that the more sales they send to you -- the higher you will set their commissions level?

G.

They may be making some additional commissions. But, aren't you also making additional sales and, therefore, additional profit? As an affiliate I view purchasing via my own links as a form of "employee" discount.

I had one merchant who didn't allow self-purchases - so we shopped elsewhere, until I found a similar merchant to promote - who does allow self-referred purchases.

However, you own the business and it's totally your call.
    Bill / Marketing Blog @ 12PM - Current project: Resurrecting my "baby" at South Baltimore..
    Cute Personal Checks and Business Checks
    If you are too busy to laugh you are too busy.

Super Cool Affiliate Manager IanBookMan's Avatar
    my suggestion - and i have the same situation - is to welcome it and encourage it.

unless you have a program that pays out more than you make and they are cancelling before it becomes profitable, then in that case set something up in your T&C's explaining that.

Hello Beachy / Geno, many thanks for your reply.