Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    October 4th, 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    27
    Amazon ECS 4.0 Beta Script
    David

    Just for your information, I have installed the beta 0502 ae.pl script and all appears to be working apart from one strange anomally(sp?) which you may like to know about.

    On the pages I have this script running, I have always shown an image of the product together with a 'Buy From Amazon' button. I have never used the Quick Click button option.

    However, on testing the new script and clicking on the 'Buy From Amazon' button, I get taken to an Amazon error screen saying they can't find the product page. If I click on the product image, that goes through to the Amazon page with no problem.

    To get around this, I have turned off the 'Buy From Amazon' buttons and activated the Quick Click option buttons which work OK although I am not sure if my customers will like them!

    So it would appear that there is a little bug in the 'Buy From Amazon' button code.

    Alan

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    Go to http://www.c3scripts.com/support and tell me the exact URL at your website so I can see the problem for myself. Thanks.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    October 4th, 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    27
    David

    Just sent details via a support ticket.

    Regards

    Alan

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2005
    Posts
    59
    http://www.homeandgardenworld.co.uk/...stains-14.html

    At this page I have the following script:

    <script src="http://www.homeandgardenworld.co.uk/cgi-bin/books.pl?script&amp;asinsearch=0600611248,B000NB54TI&amp;grid=c:1,r:1,p,ifa,b,u"></script>

    Which should show a book on stain removal. But in fact it shows cat litter <G>

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    October 4th, 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    27
    Jill

    You have two different ASIN numbers in the asinsearch command.

    0600611248 is for the book but the B000NB54TI is a cat litter tray according to a direct search on Amazon. If you take the second B000NB54TI ASIN out, it will probably show the book.

    Of course, it is quite possible that Amazon UK have changed things which they have a want of doing.

    Alan

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    The work-around is to use asinsearch=0600611248,0000000000 instead. That is, use 0000000000 as the 2nd ASIN.

    AE has a feature that an asinsearch of only one ASIN will cause the results to be formatted based on the format set in configuration variable asinsearch.format regardless of the grid parameter. The 2nd ASIN stops this and the grid=c:1,r:1 causes a 1x1 grid. But...

    You are see a problem because Amazon ECS4 does not guarantee what order the products will be returns, regardless of the order that you specified them in the asinsearch parameter. Thus by using ASIN 0000000000 as the 2nd ASIN (an invalid ASIN), Amazon returns only one product (the 1st ASIN) and thus that product will be shown in the grid.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2005
    Posts
    59
    Quote Originally Posted by alkenmrs
    You have two different ASIN numbers in the asinsearch command.

    0600611248 is for the book but the B000NB54TI is a cat litter tray according to a direct search on Amazon. If you take the second B000NB54TI ASIN out, it will probably show the book.
    Thanks Alan, in order to display correctly it requires two asin numbers.


    Quote Originally Posted by cusimano
    The work-around is to use asinsearch=0600611248,0000000000 instead. That is, use 0000000000 as the 2nd ASIN.
    Thanks David - worked a treat

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2005
    Posts
    59
    I have always used the following script to search for books:

    <script src="http://www.thedogscene.co.uk/cgi-bin/books.pl?script&amp;type=bestsellers&amp;mode=books-uk&amp;keyword=Dalmatians&amp;grid=c:3,r:1,p,m,if"></script>

    Now, it just returns no results found.

    Example page this is on: http://www.thedogscene.co.uk/dog-breeds/dalmatian/

    I tried changing type to =best but that didn't make any difference.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2005
    Posts
    59
    I see that a search for best sellers is not working at http://www.grandshop.co.uk/ either

    David, is it best to write here with problems or your support form?

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    I hadn't tested UK. Download newer beta ae-080402-1242-beta.zip (or higher) from the AE release directory http://www.c3scripts.com/amazon/release/

    You can report bugs in this thread but if you include one of your URL's (always helpful) you should use the Support form. Before posting a bug report, go to the release directory and see if there's a newer beta, and if so try it first.

    Browsing of some UK stores/nodes does not work properly, e.g.: type=browse&mode=toys does not show any subcategories. The entire type=browse handler is going to be rewritten shortly to work with any browse store/node.

    Thanks.

    Yours truly,
    Cusmano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    October 4th, 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    27
    David

    Did you see the problem with the Amazon Buy Now buttons on the site URL that I sent you via my support ticket?.

    If so, is the problem down to a bug or is there some setting in the ae.ini that I can set or unset as the case maybe.

    Have just uploaded the latest beta but the problem is still there. I can of course put the quick click buttons back for the time being since they do what they are designed to do.

    Alan

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    alkenmrs,

    Download newest beta (ae-080402-1853-beta or higher). The "Buy from Amazon.com" buttons (when addto.addcart is "no") now works again. Problem is at amazon.com's end; AE now does a work-around. Thanks.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  13. #13
    Full Member
    Join Date
    December 20th, 2005
    Posts
    413
    Looks like the new beta has another benefit: the intermittent "no results found" that was fixed with a refresh doesn't seem to be happening any more.
    [URL=http://themoneyforums.com]The Money Forums[/URL]

  14. #14
    ABW Ambassador cusimano's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,369
    DoctorMike: Probably related to the fact that AE now accesses Amazon''s ECS4 server.

    All users: ae-080403-0612-beta, the browse handler (type=browse&mode=...) has been rewritten. Many more browse node index pages work properly (e.g.: type=browse&mode=301582: Video / DVD / Genres / Action & Adventure / James Bond), and they are much faster to generate and fetch less data from amazon.

    Yours truly,
    Cusimano.Com Corporation
    per: David Cusimano

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2005
    Posts
    59
    Exclamation
    It seems that if a product is on the market place it doesn't show the price nor does it add it to the basket, although when you click buy it tells you it is added.

    http://www.homeandgardenworld.co.uk/...rch=0754801969

    I guess that's Amazon? If yes then I suppose it pays not to include market place items.

    [edit] http://www.homeandgardenworld.co.uk/...rch=1561589357 shows a book at £5.59 - when you click buy it ads it to your basked and shows £2.15. Look at the book on Amazon site and it shows it £5.59 ???

    OK, something is drastically wrong with the pricing. http://www.homeandgardenworld.co.uk/...rch=0789315572 is a book costing £11.49 buy puts it into your basket for £5.95 but again the page on amazon for that book shows it at £11.49
    Last edited by Babrees; April 3rd, 2008 at 01:57 PM.

  16. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Amazon MP3 Beta
    By Trust in forum Amazon
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2007, 01:15 PM
  2. Amazon MP3 Beta
    By Trust in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 25th, 2007, 03:12 PM
  3. Beta Script Available for ABW Members
    By ScottyB in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 29th, 2005, 01:11 AM
  4. Amazon ECS 4.0 & ASP.NET (VB.NET) QUESTION
    By stfarm45 in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 2nd, 2005, 10:44 PM
  5. Amazon Beta areas
    By CrazyGuy in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 25th, 2004, 03:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •