I need serious advice quick
    I need advice quick because I just hired a programmer to do this for me and I now dont know if I want it done.

My niche site has a messageboard that is mostly dead.
    People come in, look around, and leave. Unfortunatlely Im not an expert at the niche so I could never create a party environment in the forum, thats why its dead.
    I've hired lots of forum posters and have thousands of threads, but theres no traction there.

So Im thinking of making a Q&A section to my site. Just like Yahoo Answers.
    People will ask a question and others will answer.
    People who give good answers will earn points and then can win prizes.

However, I do already have a forum. Dead as it is, it is there.

So my questions are:

1. Is it reduntant to have an Answers section when I already have a forum?
    Or can you see a difference?

2. Would I be better off with an "Ask the Experts" area than an open Q&A area where anyone can ask and answer?

Its hard for me to be judgemental since its my site.
    But im looking for some changes to breathe life into the site.
    And I want a way for people to earn prizes.

thanks for any advice

Ineed advice quick because I just hired a programmer and dont know what I want him to program.
    Take a week off and re-think - sounds like your bouncing off the walls. No offense intended.
    Continued Success,

Haiko
    The secret of success is constancy of purpose ~ Disraeli

Quote Originally Posted by Haiko de Poel, Jr.
    Take a week off and re-think - sounds like your bouncing off the walls. No offense intended.
    No offense taken, I am.
    I tend to be a frantic person, and this site is important to me, so thats why I'm taking it very seriously.

I need a reason for people to come and tell their friends.

Quote Originally Posted by marc100
    I need a reason for people to come and tell their friends.