Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    August 4th, 2007
    Posts
    108
    Unhappy width of columns issue with some shops PHP
    I have been having some problems with certain shops not wanting to apply the styles to tables, particularly the column widths. As a workaround I am having to redesign those pages so they don't break my default page widths

    here is an example:

    http://www.bigsite.us/catalog/index.php?cPath=1_17_25

    I have resaved the stylesheet and looked at the resulting code and don't see anything....but I may be blind

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador Doug247's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    DE USA
    Posts
    931
    Quote Originally Posted by bigsite
    I have been having some problems with certain shops not wanting to apply the styles to tables, particularly the column widths. As a workaround I am having to redesign those pages so they don't break my default page widths

    here is an example:

    http://www.bigsite.us/catalog/index.php?cPath=1_17_25

    I have resaved the stylesheet and looked at the resulting code and don't see anything....but I may be blind

    I am pretty sure it has to do with the links with no spaces in the text.

    For example this product: DVD/CD-RW120L/512/60/DVD-CDRW/WIFI/winxp

    There are no space to allow for word wrap. As a result the column gets blown out to compensate. That also explains why it is intermittent.

    Hope that helps.
    Thanks,
    Doug

  3. #3
    Beachy Bill's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 20th, 2005
    Posts
    8,266
    Quote Originally Posted by itsupportnotes
    I am pretty sure it has to do with the links with no spaces in the text.

    For example this product: DVD/CD-RW120L/512/60/DVD-CDRW/WIFI/winxp

    There are no space to allow for word wrap. As a result the column gets blown out to compensate. That also explains why it is intermittent.

    Hope that helps.
    That's most likely the problem. I had an issue a few weeks ago with one site I was building with almost exactly the same thing. Try going back into your setup and editing those long strings of text - either cut them or "break" them with spaces and see if that doesn't fix the problem.

    Good luck.

    Bill / Marketing Blog @ 12PM - Current project: Resurrecting my "baby" at South Baltimore..
    Cute Personal Checks and Business Checks
    If you are too busy to laugh you are too busy.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    August 4th, 2007
    Posts
    108
    yes, but it only appears on the page one, after that it goes away....it would appear to me that word wrap wouldn't have those kinds of issues, unless it was all pages......

    have u or someone come up with a local solution?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    August 4th, 2007
    Posts
    108
    FYI, this is buried in code........I can't break them up when they are 100% php

  6. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 9th, 2009, 06:00 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: July 7th, 2008, 01:40 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: January 28th, 2008, 01:02 AM
  4. Replies: 41
    Last Post: July 16th, 2003, 09:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •