Dear Experts,

I was wondering, is it better (opinions please) to pick one or two top sellers from each of these folks? Or, say.. stick with a Click Bank and promote their top programs? Anyone had any luck on eBay? Buying Wholesale, selling retail? Does a CJ tell or list what their number one selling affiliate program is? Does anyone use eBay to promote the affiliate program presently?

Kind Regards,
    Brian S. Tinsley
    http://www.creativewealth.com
    If you aim at nothing, you WILL hit it!

Animal Lover
    Hey Brian,

Just my 2 cents...when I started out doing affiliate marketing (I'm still quite new at it), I too went the choose the merchant with the highest payout first and tried to build a site around that...but I found that it didn't work well because 1. I had absolutely no interest whatsoever in the product 2. It was a real chore trying to sell the product. So I started from me - what are my interests, what do I really love? When I did that, I listed all the categories that I was interested in and then tried to find merchants with affiliate programs...sure sometimes I couldn't find any for one topic I liked, so I'd move on to the next topic...and I found that the sites I built were easy to write (because I knew what I was talking about) and I started to get sales...

That's how I started out anyway...I may move onto things that are fringe interests for me later on but I think when you first start out, it's best to go with your interests (it's easier to write about) and then when you get better at it, move onto something more fringe...

Just my 2 cents, welcome to the forum.
    Oscar

Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    On the other hand--In my experience, "selling what you know" is only good if you happen to know of a lucrative product/hobby, other people care enough about the same product/hobby to buy anything, and the category isn't already covered by what seems like the entire rest of the web.