Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador PatrickAllmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 20th, 2005
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    1,219
    Make firefox faster
    I just did this to my firefox set up and I have to say it is quite faster:

    http://forevergeek.com/open_source/m...fox_faster.php
    ---
    This response was masterly crafted via the fingers of Patrick Allmond who believe you should StopDoingNothing starting today.
    ---
    Focus Consulting is where I roll | Follow @patrickallmond on Twitter
    Search Engine Marketing | Search Engine Optimization | Social Media | Online Video

  2. #2
    Outsourced Program Manager Jorge - SHOPiMAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,550
    Cool, thanks Patrick. Another nice new trick to make me like FF even more now


  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador Daniel M. Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 7th, 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2,082
    It hasn't had an astronomical effect, but it's definitely snappier than it was. Thanks for reminding me about this!
    Daniel M. Clark
    Tech Manager
    Greg Hoffman Consulting

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    Cranking up the network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to 30 is not really a good thing. I would't want even a handful of visitors making that many requests from my servers at the same time as this can bog down loading of a page for everyone. The other tweaks are good though...



    X

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador Daniel M. Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 7th, 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2,082
    You're right that 30 is too much... I set mine to 16 - modern servers should be able to handle that.
    Daniel M. Clark
    Tech Manager
    Greg Hoffman Consulting

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador PatrickAllmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 20th, 2005
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    1,219
    I think would only be a problem if you actually 30 different objects on a page to download correct? If you have 5 things on page to download it is not going to matter if it is 5 or 50.

    Now on a page like digg or cnn I bet it really beats them up !
    ---
    This response was masterly crafted via the fingers of Patrick Allmond who believe you should StopDoingNothing starting today.
    ---
    Focus Consulting is where I roll | Follow @patrickallmond on Twitter
    Search Engine Marketing | Search Engine Optimization | Social Media | Online Video

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    Quote Originally Posted by patrick24601
    I think would only be a problem if you actually 30 different objects on a page to download correct? If you have 5 things on page to download it is not going to matter if it is 5 or 50.

    Now on a page like digg or cnn I bet it really beats them up !
    The object count on our ecommerce home page is in excess of 50. I bet if you started looking around you'd find contemporary websites contain many more objects than you would think. On ours there are small corner graphics (four for each outline and box). The banner is split into multiple images, and on and on.



    X

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador PatrickAllmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 20th, 2005
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    1,219
    understood!
    ---
    This response was masterly crafted via the fingers of Patrick Allmond who believe you should StopDoingNothing starting today.
    ---
    Focus Consulting is where I roll | Follow @patrickallmond on Twitter
    Search Engine Marketing | Search Engine Optimization | Social Media | Online Video

  9. #9
    OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 5th, 2005
    Location
    Park City Utah
    Posts
    16,646
    Thanks man, works great at home and will try it on the office brick.

  10. #10
    Analytics Dude Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    5,904
    Firefox 3.0 is snappy too
    Kevin Webster
    twitter: levelanalytics

    Kayak Fishing
    Web Analytics and Affiliate Marketing

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador Daniel M. Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 7th, 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2,082
    I've been using 3 since the first public beta of it, and I'm generally happy with it (despite not having 99% of my plugins as a result). I get crashes less and less frequently with each new beta, but that's why they call it beta

    It's definitely snappier and more responsive than the 2.0's, that's for sure.
    Daniel M. Clark
    Tech Manager
    Greg Hoffman Consulting

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador writerguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    3,248
    I haven't been checking around at all about FF for some time now. Any word on when 3 will be officially released in a stable version?

    (I'm still one of those Grumpy Old Guys who thoroughly enjoyed using Mozilla, with the email/browser suite features. I STILL think the Mozilla mail spam filters are better than Thunderbird's.)
    Generate more fake news.

  13. #13
    ABW Ambassador Daniel M. Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 7th, 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2,082
    I don't think they've announced anything yet, but I could be wrong... I haven't seen anything resembling a firm date myself.
    Daniel M. Clark
    Tech Manager
    Greg Hoffman Consulting

  14. #14
    OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 5th, 2005
    Location
    Park City Utah
    Posts
    16,646
    FF3 isn't compatible with my add-ins so I have to revert back!

  15. #15
    Affiliate Manager buyjewelry's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    400
    This is pretty cool - any way of doing a similar thing with IE or is it specific to FF?

  16. #16
    ABW Ambassador Daniel M. Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 7th, 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2,082
    You can do it in IE as well - it's actually quite an old trick (going back at least to IE4). On Windows though, it's a registry hack, not a browser preference setting. Here's a page that talks about it:

    http://www.maximumpcguides.com/speed...ections-limit/
    Daniel M. Clark
    Tech Manager
    Greg Hoffman Consulting

  17. #17
    Affiliate Manager buyjewelry's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Daniel! it's working nicely.

  18. #18
    ABW Ambassador PatrickAllmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 20th, 2005
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    1,219
    I can't upgrade until the Roboform people say their plugin works. I could not live without that - in IE or in FF. Doesn't work with Safari. I curse at thee!
    ---
    This response was masterly crafted via the fingers of Patrick Allmond who believe you should StopDoingNothing starting today.
    ---
    Focus Consulting is where I roll | Follow @patrickallmond on Twitter
    Search Engine Marketing | Search Engine Optimization | Social Media | Online Video

  19. #19
    Member CouponBastard's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 16th, 2008
    Location
    in coupon land...........Orlando
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by patrick24601
    I just did this to my firefox set up and I have to say it is quite faster:

    http://forevergeek.com/open_source/m...fox_faster.php
    Great find!

  20. #20
    general fuq mrbshouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Argieville
    Posts
    1,381
    There is a plug in that helps configure all this too search for tweak network settings.

    Listed options
    Max Connections
    Max connections per server
    Max persistent connections per server
    Max persistent connection per proxy

    pipelining
    proxy pipelining
    pipelining max request

    it's been working like a charm here through a number of updates

  21. #21
    No Longer Banned!
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2008
    Location
    Wilmer, Texas 75172
    Posts
    939
    How to speed up Fire Fox....
    Pat

    Did Mine too. Thank You !

    Steve
    DreamLinux.net | Registered Linux User 453976 | PM me to view our sites. It's a Google thing.

  22. #22
    Newbie Rich Mann's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 27th, 2007
    Location
    Everett, Wa
    Posts
    23
    I have already implemented all these but nglayout.initialpaint.delay was set at 250 according to the tweek I had already done. I set it to "0" and will see what the difference will be.

  23. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Bookmark This Site, Make Homepage html/javascript for Firefox?
    By Trust in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: February 21st, 2008, 08:33 PM
  2. Faster Payments?
    By MichaelColey in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: May 18th, 2007, 03:59 PM
  3. Firefox extension allows analytics to be viewed in firefox.
    By jrb16915 in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 9th, 2005, 04:09 PM
  4. How to make product feeds faster?
    By hosst in forum Amazon
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 18th, 2003, 07:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •