Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27
  1. #1
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    ebay links not showing up on site - please advise
    In the past I've seen funny glitches with editor kit....

    e.g I put the search terms in but it just brought up affiliate marketing ads. This caused me to have to try multiple times to refresh the page till the editor kit got it right, or I placed it on the site anyway (and it corrected itself later).

    Well on switching to the new ebay network I had the same problem, but this time, the ads have dissappeared from my site after a few days. They are in the code, but invisible on the page. When I go into ebay editor kit to redo them, the place where it gives you a preview also comes up blank....

    Now I know I did it right - because several other pages are still displaying the ebay links.

    Any advice welcomed.

  2. #2
    Full Member bobby131313's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 12th, 2007
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    550
    Sure sounds to me like javascript got turned off in your browser.

    Do this, right after the EK code put this...

    <noscript>Bobby131313 was right.</noscript>

    Upload and see what what you see then.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    If there are no eBay search results for whatever your EK is looking for and you have "Don't show Editor Kit at all" selected, you will get nothing...



    X

  4. #4
    Full Member bobby131313's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 12th, 2007
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    550
    And then there's that....

  5. #5
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Boomers
    If there are no eBay search results for whatever your EK is looking for and you have "Don't show Editor Kit at all" selected, you will get nothing...
    There's always been results in the past and the same products are still on ebay so that's not the problem.

    I don't have "Don't show Editor Kit at all" selected, in fact it didn't come up as an option when making the codes.....

  6. #6
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by bobby131313
    Sure sounds to me like javascript got turned off in your browser.

    Do this, right after the EK code put this...

    <noscript>Bobby131313 was right.</noscript>

    Upload and see what what you see then.
    Bobby, I put that in but nothing changed.

  7. #7
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Guys, I think the main point that shouild be made is that the ads were actually showing up for 24hrs+ before they dissappeared...

  8. #8
    Full Member bobby131313's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 12th, 2007
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    550
    Hmmmm...

    Could be a server-side issue with javascript. Are you on some kind of free host or third-party tool like squidoo or something like that?

  9. #9
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by bobby131313
    Hmmmm...

    Could be a server-side issue with javascript. Are you on some kind of free host or third-party tool like squidoo or something like that?
    Nope, hostgator.

    And remember, it's only a few ads that have dissappeared. Total ebay ads 11, 7 still showing, 4 "dissapeared" into thin air...

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    Build a test page with perhaps a little text and the EK code only. Experiment a little with your search terms and see what you can get to come up. If it works, go from there. If it doesn't work, rebuild your link and test again...



    X

  11. #11
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Boomers
    Build a test page with perhaps a little text and the EK code only. Experiment a little with your search terms and see what you can get to come up. If it works, go from there...
    Search terms aren't the problem, as I'm using the same ones I always have, and there are 1000s of related items on ebay all the time.

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    Quote Originally Posted by #Darren
    Search terms aren't the problem, as I'm using the same ones I always have, and there are 1000s of related items on ebay all the time.
    I'm not saying search terms are the problem. I'm suggesting basic troubleshooting technique that will help nail down a solution. If you can't fix the existing page, fall back to just the basics to eliminate all else and go from there...



    X

  13. #13
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Boomers
    I'm not saying search terms are the problem. I'm suggesting basic troubleshooting technique that will help nail down a solution. If you can't fix the existing page, fall back to just the basics to eliminate all else and go from there...
    I will try to play around with the code from my "working" links and see how it goes

  14. #14
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    Let us know how you make out...



    X

  15. #15
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Very wierd...

    I took working code from another page, placed it on the problem page, and it still doesn't show up.

    I'm thinking it might be some new changes at ebay that are conflicting with my page coding, but the coding used on both pages (working and not working) is virtually identical

  16. #16
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Just an update...

    I posted this problem on the ebay discussion forum and another member is reporting having the exact same problem.

  17. #17
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    Ok, you're part way there. The code is likely good, it must be a problem with the page you're integrating it on...



    X

  18. #18
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 17th, 2007
    Posts
    6
    This is happening to me too. Just a simple update same page same everything.
    blank.
    I have one page with the duplicate EK running fine with the cj code.

    The only thing I can think of is I just created the camp id with epn
    could that be it?

  19. #19
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    One thing I forgot to suggest, on the troublesome page, press Ctrl-F5. That forces a refresh from the server.



    X

  20. #20
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Boomers
    One thing I forgot to suggest, on the troublesome page, press Ctrl-F5. That forces a refresh from the server.
    Thanks, tried it but no joy.

  21. #21
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    Seems that something on the page itself is suspect. Without seeing the source I don't really know what else to suggest...



    X

  22. #22
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Boomers
    Seems that something on the page itself is suspect. Without seeing the source I don't really know what else to suggest...
    I have it on 3 forums, all running with the same coding, and it works on 2, not on 1.

    I can show you the pages if you want to see them..

  23. #23
    Newbie #Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2007
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Boomers
    Seems that something on the page itself is suspect. Without seeing the source I don't really know what else to suggest...
    "something on the page is suspect"....

    That's what occured to me, BUT, the CJ ebay ads ran on the exact same pages for over a year NO PROBS...

    So unless ebay has changed something at their end, then that isn't the problem.

  24. #24
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    Quote Originally Posted by #Darren
    I have it on 3 forums, all running with the same coding, and it works on 2, not on 1.

    I can show you the pages if you want to see them..
    ...That's ok. I'll take your word for it.



    X

  25. #25
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,263
    Some thoughts...

    Have you checked from another computer?
    Is this a cross browser issue?
    Have you tried the problem pages in both FF & IE?
    If you're using FF, check the Error Console.
    Check for broken javascript or other code on the page that could affect it.
    I assume you have, but take the code that works from another page, copy it over and change the query attribute.
    Hi, I'm a signature.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. I need advise - google adwards stopped showing my ad
    By Dafna in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 8th, 2010, 04:44 AM
  2. New Asian Shopping site but need advise
    By merkado in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 18th, 2009, 05:49 PM
  3. Any advise on how to apply on eBay affiliates?
    By shilmy in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 13th, 2007, 06:58 PM
  4. eBay UK not showing auction listings
    By tmd5 in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 4th, 2004, 12:37 PM
  5. Ebay registrations showing $0.00
    By cape cod in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 4th, 2003, 06:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •