How many Networks
    Hi, newbie here.

We're a merchant and we've partnered with SAS.

Does it pay to join others such as CJ, Linkshare, etc?

While it obviously can expand our reach to get more affiliates, is it "frowned" in the industry?

thanks

While I can't speak for the entire industry, I certainly frown upon it. If you are a SaS exclusive merchant I don't need to worry about parasites quite as much because they actively screen for them and make every attempt to keep them out of the network. The other networks you mentioned...not so much. They actually encourage merchants to allow parasites into their programs as it increases their bottom line while at the same time damaging yours.

There's also the issue of cookies from multiple networks. Since each network will only overwrite their own cookies, a buyer that has visited multiple affiliate sights from different networks may be sporting multiple cookies. Now you have to determine who to pay or split the commission between multiple affiliates. It's just another layer of complexity.

There's also the additional administration and expense associated with multiple networks. Why not use the fees that you save to fund some great affiliate promotions to drive even more sales?

I'm sure this isn't an exhaustive list of reasons and others will chime in, but hopefully this will give you a few things to think about.

-rematt
    "I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Richard Nixon

thanks for the feedback.