Looking for a wee boost
    Just looking to vent.. not particularly affiliate-related..

Part of my biz is designing/hosting sites for others.. I've moved away from it since my affiliate sites have picked up (traffic & revenue), but maintain a client base.

A client just called to advise he's moved his site, he's a real DIY'er, so I can appreciate that. But when I go to HIS site, he apparently has launched his own website design & hosting service! This was based on some success he had building a local community site, I guess.

He's doing all this with Joomla.

Now I think Joomla is a GREAT app for DIY'ers, but as a pro, I can't really recommend it to clients, as it effectively locks them into that platform forever. Plus there are bugs, version control, upgrades, hacks, etc. which I'm just not going to take on for clients (how to do I charge for time spent when it's my recommended platform??). Also, for Joomla, how do you charge for a free app? Clients complain if it's time-based, nor do they realize how long these things take.

For my biz, I have implemented a php-based CMS that doesn't have fancy bells & whistles, but generates front-end html-compatible code which can be ported elsewhere. Which means a client can move platforms easily, doesn't need a database, or in the case of an emergency php upgrade (which has happened), can be deployed as html.

So here I am... totally second guessing my own success at site-design, when a DIY-er breezily takes on the same business as mine.

On a positive note, a site that I did for a friend, who is a collector of 20th century objects.. will be listed in Arch. Digest next month (which was amazing news). One of his objects was selected by editors as a "web find", but he gives me full credit as there are thousands of sites that carry similar items. The site I deployed has a very simple gallery feel that fits...