Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador bettylou's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 27th, 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    595
    More questions about addon domains
    I know I have asked about this a little before but how do the addon domains work. I have always just purchased another hosting account for each domain but last november I decided to try the addon domains.

    They are basically just given their own folder within the main domain. I was curious how SEs would see them, if they would just be viewed as part of the main site. And now that they are getting listed in Google, they are showing up as the-addon-domain.com and also as the-main-domain/addon-domain. I would think that this would surely hurt my rankings for the-main-domain.com since it would seem diluted and not very topic related. Is there any way to make these truly be there own domains other than setting up a new account for each?
    Last edited by bettylou; April 30th, 2008 at 10:48 AM.

  2. #2
    Grandma broke her coccyx! Uncle Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 8th, 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,238
    I have HostGator and have 4 Addon domains setup on my account. Like you, my Addon domain sites are accessible both with and without the main domain name. However, the SE only know them by the addon domain name without the main domain name.

    I also include this section of code in my .htaccess file to force everything to the www version of the domain. This addresses canonical domain name issues, but I don't think it would fix the problem you are seeing.

    Code:
    ###Redirect requests for domain.com to www.domain.com
    Options +FollowSymlinks
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^domain\.com$ [nc]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/$1 [L,R=301]

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador bettylou's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 27th, 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    595
    Thanks Seymour,

    I will add this to my .htaccess. I appreciate it very much.

  4. #4
    Grandma broke her coccyx! Uncle Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 8th, 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,238
    Quote Originally Posted by bettylou
    Thanks Seymour,

    I will add this to my .htaccess. I appreciate it very much.
    You probably have to modify it to work in your case. Something like this, but specifics will need to be worked out


    Code:
    ###Redirect requests for domain.com to www.domain.com
    Options +FollowSymlinks
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST}  main-domain.com/addon-domain\.com$ [nc]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.addon-domain.com/$1 [L,R=301]

  5. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. For Those Who Have Sold Domains Thru Sedo - Questions
    By Trust in forum Domains & Hosting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 15th, 2008, 05:08 PM
  2. If I Move to an addon domain...
    By hazlcha in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: October 29th, 2007, 12:26 PM
  3. htaccess with addon domains
    By ignition in forum Cusimano.com Scripts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 20th, 2007, 03:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •