Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Smile Panda Software??
    I know that Panda has a forum here but I wanted to get comments about whether Panda was good computer security.

    I need to change what is on my computer and would like to know if Panda is what I should go with. If not - what would you recommend?

    Thanks.

    Richard

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  2. #2
    Merchant & ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    May 31st, 2006
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    4,731
    It runs on bamboo..

    Have not heard anything bad or good about it. I know that they are not quite the big boys yet in the scan-virus world. Why not go with mcafee or some of the other name brands..office depot and office max often give sell this and it's free after rebate

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    For virus scanning or adware?

    My current setup - 0 problems on the Vista I've had for almost a year now -

    Just using the Windows firewall.

    AVG Free for virus protection, updates and scans every morning while I'm sleeping. It's caught a couple of attempts and handled them. I think it was more bad code on a site, so it was never anything to worry about. I think false positive kind of stuff.

    And the every now and then I'll run Spybot, which never picks up anything because the computer is clean.

    Forgot I have Windows Defender too which is:
    "Real-time protection.Windows Defender alerts you when spyware or potentially unwanted software attempts to install itself or to run on your computer."

    And that scans daily for me at 2AM. So everything is setup to be pretty much automatic. Updates and scans on it's own.

  4. #4
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    I was thinking virus and adware and firewall.

    They have all three in the same software program??

    I'm running Vista.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    I think there are things out there that have all 3, maybe even AVG. But you might have to upgrade or pay for it.

    Everything I'm using is free and the Windows Firewall and Windows Defender comes with Vista. So I just added the free AVG and I'm good to go.

  6. #6
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    I've had McAfee before. Changed to Norton and it found all kinds of things that McAfee missed.

    Used MicroTrends and it found things that Norton Missed.

    I'm running a free Panda scan right now and it's finding things that MicroTrend and Windows Defender and Spy Sweeper missed ??

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    Don't know about any of those other virus scanners. AVG was always highly recommended to me and it's also the #1 download at Download.com http://www.download.com/

    Can check out the great ratings, video etc. http://www.download.com/AVG-Anti-Vir...dlPid=10834624

    Try that and see if it finds anything.

  8. #8
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    What I'm running is here Trust. http://www.pandasecurity.com/usa/

    It's still running on my computer right now but it's finding stuff.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    I'll try that one just for fun, see if it comes up with anything. I'm at 1%, will update later when it's done.

    14%
    Files infected:0
    Suspicious files detected:0
    Vulnerabilities detected:0

  10. #10
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by Trust
    I'll try that one just for fun, see if it comes up with anything. I'm at 1%, will update later when it's done.
    OK - let us know.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    It picked up some stuff but it was just:

    Cookies detected!

    Which isn't any virus or threat. So computer is clean.

    "It's still running on my computer right now but it's finding stuff."

    Is it just cookies too or an actual threat?

  12. #12
    Moderator leeann's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,955
    I run Norton and was told that in order to do a system restore on Vista I have to completely uninstall Norton. If true, that is a major pain and just another thing I'll have to get used to with Vista.
    leeann


    Shoppers determine what has value and they like coupons. Stop manipulating who set the cookie just because you do not like coupon and promotional sites.

  13. #13
    ABW Ambassador 2busy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Tropical Mountaintop
    Posts
    5,636
    The best AV I've found is ESET NOD32 from http://www.eset.com/. I have it on 3 computers, the laptop is Vista and I wouldn't go back to Norton for anything. It rates higher that Kaspersky or BitDefender, last year's winners for stopping 'in-the-wild' virus activity which is virus activity too new to have a definition in Norton and others. It runs on a tiny footprint and all my other apps run freely now. They give you a fully functional 30 day free trial to check it out. It doesn't fight with your other apps.

  14. #14
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Smile
    Quote Originally Posted by 2busy
    The best AV I've found is ESET NOD32 from http://www.eset.com/. I have it on 3 computers, the laptop is Vista and I wouldn't go back to Norton for anything. It rates higher that Kaspersky or BitDefender, last year's winners for stopping 'in-the-wild' virus activity which is virus activity too new to have a definition in Norton and others. It runs on a tiny footprint and all my other apps run freely now. They give you a fully functional 30 day free trial to check it out. It doesn't fight with your other apps.
    Thanks 2busy.

    I installed it on my computer with the 30 days free trial and have it scanning my computer right now.

    It installed with no problems and is really going through the files real fast scanning them.

    All of my programs seem to be running OK too.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  15. #15
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    What did the Panda pick up, just cookies?

  16. #16
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Cool
    Quote Originally Posted by Trust
    What did the Panda pick up, just cookies?
    No - it wasn't a cookie.

    It was a back door for hackers - it said - but it wouldn't get rid of it unless you bought their product.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  17. #17
    MasterMike HardwareGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,810
    go for avg its free, I never liked Panda use to give me a lot of false positives.

  18. #18
    Senior Affiliate Manager AMWSO James - AMWSO's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 15th, 2005
    Location
    Anywhere with Fiber
    Posts
    858
    Panda has just launched ActiveScan 2.0. Try it out for free and see what it finds: http://www.pandasecurity.com/activescan/. [It got 4 pieces of Malware on my laptop a couple of days ago].

    Panda is huge in Europe and #1 in Spain. To check out some of the [many] positive feedback check out this page: http://www.pandasecurity.com/homeuse...tives-reviews/.
    James D. Nardell
    AMWSO.com Affiliate Management Team
    email: James.Nardell [@] AMWSO.com
    Phone: (805) 624-5669
    IM - Google/Skype: JamesNardell
    iolo technologies | Paychex | Personal VCard Website

  19. #19
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    Isn't that in a way an advertisement against Panda? I've never used it myself, don't have anything for or against it and see all the great reviews and am sure it's great but how would you get 4 pieces of malware in the first place if you were using the products available from Panda? When I tried it, it got nothing because there was nothing to get. What malware did it get? Last year I got Virtumonde (and company) on my old computer that completely wrecked it.

  20. #20
    Senior Affiliate Manager AMWSO James - AMWSO's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 15th, 2005
    Location
    Anywhere with Fiber
    Posts
    858
    No it's not. I don't have any Panda products running on my laptop.

    2 of the pieces of malware were trojans [myob variants].
    James D. Nardell
    AMWSO.com Affiliate Management Team
    email: James.Nardell [@] AMWSO.com
    Phone: (805) 624-5669
    IM - Google/Skype: JamesNardell
    iolo technologies | Paychex | Personal VCard Website

  21. #21
    ABW Ambassador 2busy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Tropical Mountaintop
    Posts
    5,636
    It installed with no problems and is really going through the files real fast scanning them.

    All of my programs seem to be running OK too.
    Wait 'til you see the difference in shutdown/startup speed!
    On a side note, you must use the Norton uninstall tool (from Norton) if Norton is on your machine, it's the only way to get rid of it completely. After I uninstalled Norton I ran Registry Mechanic and it fixed 185 problems caused by the uninstall.

  22. #22
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by 2busy
    Wait 'til you see the difference in shutdown/startup speed!
    On a side note, you must use the Norton uninstall tool (from Norton) if Norton is on your machine, it's the only way to get rid of it completely. After I uninstalled Norton I ran Registry Mechanic and it fixed 185 problems caused by the uninstall.
    This computer never had Norton on it. It had TrendMicro on it and SpySweeper.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  23. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •