Staten Island, NY
    Commas in Keywords - Yes or No
    To optimize a web page for organic search, should commas be used to separate keywords or not? I've also been led to believe that you shouldn't use TOO MAN Y keywords. For both, I am talking about meta keywords tag of course.

Reason I ask is that I've always been told to separate keywords by commas. I came across a web site that ranks very high for competitive keywords, and noticed there were no commas - and a TON of keyword phrases.

Any thoughts?

Afilyit, I usually use commas. I like to look at what coding looks like and how others go about their seo. If they are ranking well, why not? Nowadays they say G doesn't look at keywords, but can figure out from the page itself what your page is about. Title is impt. Y! still seem to use the meta tags. I wouldn't worry about too many keywords, but don't go overboard either, like e.g. half the page lol. Content is king.

I have been using commas for nearly ten years and a few of my sites rank quite well for some very competitive terms/phrases. I have read the debate for commas or no commas for much of that time - and the majority of what I read leans toward using commas. It has done well for me.
    Bill / Marketing Blog @ 12PM - Current project: Resurrecting my "baby" at South Baltimore..
    Cute Personal Checks and Business Checks
    If you are too busy to laugh you are too busy.

ABW Ambassador
    I use commas. It's easier for me to view and manage. I'm not sure if commas or no commas make any difference to SEO. But wouldn't it be confused to serch engines when they do follow the keywords with no commas? Say you have two keywords on meta tag: men's shoes, women's shoes. If there is no comma, it will look like this: men's shoes women's shoes. How will the search engine figure out there are two keywords in stead of four?