macbook suggestions
    Need some help with purchasing a MacBook. I have never purchased an apple before so advice would be appreciated.

Seems like there are 3 versions of the apple laptop:

MacBook: standard version
    Air: ultra portable version
    Pro: high-end version

Am I right about this assumption?

The reason for the laptop would be video editing, picture editing, web, email, and MS Office.

I would like to select one that is easy to carry, but wouldn't mind all the bells and whistles.

First off, forget about the Air if you want to do video or picture editing. That's not really what that machine is geared for. Between the MacBook and the MacBook Pro, for what you've mentioned, I'd go with the Pro. It's what I use... and I would never consider doing image editing on a 13" MacBook screen. It can be done... but I wouldn't want to. I've been using the 17" MacBook Pro for 18 months now, and I would never go back to Windows.
    Daniel M. Clark
    Tech Manager
    Greg Hoffman Consulting

Yep, Daniel has it pegged. I've been a Mac user for 20 years (gawd--can't believe it's really been that long) and I concur with what he said. I also own 2 PCs, desktop and laptop, but find that I use one of my two MacBooks about 90% of the time. I use the smaller screen version for nearly everything, but I do not do video editing - yet. If I ever get into video I will upgrade to the Pro machine.

If you want the bells & whistles I say, Go for it!" --- and Enjoy.
    Bill / Marketing Blog @ 12PM - Current project: Resurrecting my "baby" at South Baltimore..
    Cute Personal Checks and Business Checks
    If you are too busy to laugh you are too busy.

thanks guys, is the pro 17" easy to lug around? mind telling me how much it weighs? I'll get the dimensions online.

6.8 pounds: http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/specs.html