Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Vista 32 or 64 bit-how do I know?
    I am at my parents' home.
    I want to install AVG Free 8.0 [whatever the # is]
    It says that the Vista operating system is not up-to-date and needs a patch.

    Ho do I know if I should download the 32 bit or 64 bit patch?

    Thanks for any help

    I just saw on an installation disk it is a 32 bit.

    Thanks.

    Is there any way to see it within the computer if there is a next time?
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  2. #2
    Visual Artist & ABW Ambassador lostdeviant's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 7th, 2007
    Location
    Cuautitlán, Edo. de México
    Posts
    1,725
    1.go to your start menu
    2. Right click on computer
    3. select properties..
    you'll see if it is 32 or 64 bit right there.

  3. #3
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Thanks, Lostdeviant. Those were the steps I was looking for

    32 bit is confirmed (yay I downloaded the right patch).
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  4. #4
    MasterMike HardwareGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,810
    if you didn't have the right patch it wouldn't let ya install.

    BTW x86 is 32bit a lot of people don't realize that.

  5. #5
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    It was funny, I was at my parents' home and I am not familiar with the Vista operating system. I was grateful for the help

    Thanks for the info
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador PatrickAllmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 20th, 2005
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    1,219
    If you parents were running 64bit they would be honorary members into the super cool geekdom!
    ---
    This response was masterly crafted via the fingers of Patrick Allmond who believe you should StopDoingNothing starting today.
    ---
    Focus Consulting is where I roll | Follow @patrickallmond on Twitter
    Search Engine Marketing | Search Engine Optimization | Social Media | Online Video

  7. #7
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Quote Originally Posted by BatteryFuelPatrick
    If you parents were running 64bit they would be honorary members into the super cool geekdom!


    My parents have trouble turning the computer off and on

    One problem they have that I couldn't figure out how to stop is: a prompt keeps on appearing on their screen asking if they would like to "Clear the Private Data" of Firefox.

    I downloaded & installed the most recent Firefox browser hoping that this problem would be solved, but it wasn't. How do we get rid of the prompt unless we really want to clear the private data? I told my parents to hit "cancel" or the "x" button which makes the prompt go away for a little while but then it re-appears I do not have this problem with Firefox on my XP computer.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador PatrickAllmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 20th, 2005
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    1,219
    Tools -> Options

    Always Clear Private Data?
    Ask before clearing private data?
    ---
    This response was masterly crafted via the fingers of Patrick Allmond who believe you should StopDoingNothing starting today.
    ---
    Focus Consulting is where I roll | Follow @patrickallmond on Twitter
    Search Engine Marketing | Search Engine Optimization | Social Media | Online Video

  9. #9
    No Longer Banned!
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2008
    Location
    Wilmer, Texas 75172
    Posts
    939
    Rhia Put Drivers On her Parents 32 Bit....
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhia7


    My parents have trouble turning the computer off and on

    .
    Rhia

    If thats the case then they bought the box at a store or through some one like Dell Direct. Wal*Mart ?

    For future reference, 90% of those are 32 bit.

    Also, a lot of home stuff still won't run on 64 bit yet. So if it was bought by a NON geek/ NON biz type for email & surfing the net, it it also almost certainly 32 bit.

    Hope this helps.

    Steve
    DreamLinux.net | Registered Linux User 453976 | PM me to view our sites. It's a Google thing.

  10. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Tarballs and Vista
    By Kevin in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 31st, 2007, 07:49 AM
  2. Vista Print?
    By decky in forum Australian Affiliates
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 21st, 2007, 02:47 PM
  3. WM and Windows Vista
    By billbam in forum WebMerge (Fourthworld.com)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 16th, 2007, 10:05 PM
  4. Windows Vista....
    By loxly in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: August 12th, 2007, 08:16 PM
  5. Bit of a introduction, need a bit of advice at the same time
    By justhomdotcom in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 30th, 2006, 11:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •