Question: what are the top three affiliate marketing websites?
    Hi, I am new to affiliate marketing. I was wondering if you all, from your experience as affiliate marketers, might know what the best three pay-per-sale affiliate marketing websites would be? Is Share-a-Sale in the top three? I just seen a link to CJ, are there any other affiliate websites (good ones)? In your opinion, what are the best ones? Are there any best ones, or does that depend on the individual affiliate's experience, or product the affiliate wants to promote?

Another question:

In general, is it better to promote products on a website that belong to a specific category, such as marketing all cosmetic products on a single cosmetic website, or is it better to have a whole bunch of different kinds of products belonging to different kinds of product categories, like having any product from cosmetics, to mortgage companies, on the same site?

What are some good statistics for a beginning affiliate marketer to know?

I have already seen one post that says 80% of sales come from text links as opposed to banner web links. Is this pretty accurate from your experience?

Any advice or insight would be most appreciated. I am patient and expect to lose some money a little bit while I learn the ropes, I figure it will take me a couple of years to get the hang of this stuff...that is okay, I have set aside the monthly budget for this, I am patient...but I figure if I do a little research, ask a few questions, perhaps I could reduce the amount of loss that I must spend to start making some money at this. Therefore, any advice you may offer would be most appreciated. Thanks!

Inquisitively,

egschasteen05

Welcome egschasteen05,
    generally patience is a virtue, but not here so much as initiative is a virtue. Seek and you can find out a whole lot. Ask when you can't find out, but don't wait for definitive answers to generic questions.