best affiliate approach for a content site?
    Hi smart people.

I am a premature newbie who is wading into this strange world. I have built a great content site and have two burning questions. Before I get there, let me tell you a bit about my site. My site rates certain service providers that are licensed in any of the 50 states. Users get good information about state laws and can see ratings from people who have used the services in the past.

I want to get paid when I provide a lead to a licensed service provider. At least one service provider I contacted has an exisiting affiliate network that will be easy for me to plug into. They track the leads, conversions, and handle fulfilment etc. through their site. I know that others do not have such systems.

Question 1) What is a good system that I can use in my site to handle the business side of sending prospects to a service providers site? I am not collecting leads on my site, just directing to a provider's site. I don't expect there will be more than 100 or so licensed service providers that I would need to provide this for. I want to be able to say, "hey, I can send you good prospects. All you have to do is join my network, we negotiate a lead or conversion fee and I handle the rest." Does it even work this way? Do content sites serve this role or should anybody selling products/service over the web have such a system on their end already?

2) Any thoughts on the best way to start marketing my content site through affiliate networks.

Thanks for the help.

Generally a webmaster will build a content site, join several affiliate programs, and link to the affiliate programs from that site. An example would be dmv.org, he joins insurance/auto warranty/new car/etc. affiliate programs and just links to them.