What if I become an affiliate directly with the merchant??
    I am a newbie so please excuse my lack of terminlogy or if I have posted on the wrong forum...

I am just going through ABW for the last few days to acquaint myself with affiliate marketing...and on the other side I am also trying to set up my site for the same....

I even found out some Affiliate marketing networks (thanks to ABW) but i also found some merchants with whom i can be a direct affiliate by subscribing on their site....

What is better??? I mean say for example there is this affiliate marketing network which pays me when i get a minimum of 100$?? what about the merchants??? what is their limit before they give out the pay?? ???

Talking
    I would recommend to a newbie to definitely join 1 or 2 of the major networks.

They offer payment thresholds with all your merchants combined, (instead of only 1), standardized stats/links, etc.

Actually getting a check can be a big motivator.

That doesn't mean you can't make money with an independent tho...

What is better??? I mean say for example there is this affiliate marketing network which pays me when i get a minimum of 100$?? what about the merchants??? what is their limit before they give out the pay?? ???
    You have to read their terms and decide...

Lightbulb
    is it a network or a merchant that holds your money until it accrues to $100?

a network (many merchants) should be able to pay before that.

I know of one merchant that does that and only pays 3%, also . . . but if you do very well with them you might feel it is OK.

So it depends on the product line, your success with it, and your business model.

Outsourced Program Manager e-Gazer's Avatar
    Hi there,

Yep - each merchant will have different terms for minimum payment unless you're looking only at merchants who are on the same network as one another.