Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    No Longer Banned!
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2008
    Location
    Wilmer, Texas 75172
    Posts
    939
    Hide Value="checked" ?.....
    Hi

    I currently have this:


    <input type="checkbox" name="sitesearch"
    value="stevesapparel.com" checked /> only search Steve's Apparel<br />

    As you can see this Locks the user to my site results only { I'm not rich enough to buy the software ?} and prevents them from seein my competitors w/o removing the check mark.

    Cool feature I found. Second best but still cool.

    OK. So I got it how I wanted it from the start, so now how do I set this Default setting in stone and lock this feature and hide it from users eyes ?

    I tried value="me.com" hidden /> ~ That wasn't it.

    Ideas ?

    Steve

    BTW; JUST IN CASE, PLEASE REFRAIN FROM FLAMING ME, IT GETS OLD ~ Just to cover my bases !
    DreamLinux.net | Registered Linux User 453976 | PM me to view our sites. It's a Google thing.

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador sjangro's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1,529
    You probably want this...

    <input type="hidden" name="sitesearch" value="stevesapparel.com">

    Of course you may be violating the terms of use of whatever software or service you're using, but I'll leave that for you to sort out.

  3. #3
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Here's a free SE with no ads that you install and run on your own server.

    It works great. http://www.sphider.eu/

    After you install it tell it to index your site and about 15 minutes later your entire site is indexed.

    Don't use Google or Yahoo SEs on your site. They will not show search results on any pages on your site that they have not indexed. If you install the SE I linked to above - when you add new pages to your site - tell it to re-index your site and in about 15 minutes all of your new pages have been added to it and your SE results are current again.

    Here's an example of it in use on one of my sites: http://www.collectibledollsshop.com/...rines&search=1

    It will also leave your server and index other sites on the internet if you tell it to.

    Otherwise it will stay on your server and just index your site.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  4. #4
    No Longer Banned!
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2008
    Location
    Wilmer, Texas 75172
    Posts
    939
    sjangro

    Thats exactly what I needed.



    BB

    I pay for hosting. I don't mean to crap my own thread, but when I add my site to the /var/www/ file the it looks like someone threw a dozen aggs into a jet engine.

    I'm not sure how to fix it. If you have ideas, pm me and I'll start a new thread.

    Thank you both.

    Steve
    Last edited by Steve Williams; July 28th, 2008 at 12:09 AM. Reason: Texas Spelling Spree....
    DreamLinux.net | Registered Linux User 453976 | PM me to view our sites. It's a Google thing.

  5. #5
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveWilliams
    sjangro

    Thats exactly what I needed.



    BB

    I pay for hosting. I don't mean to crap my own thread, but when I add my site to the /var/www/ file the it looks like someone threw a dozen aggs into a jet engine.

    I'm not sure how to fix it. If you have ideas, pm me and I'll start a new thread.

    Thank you both.

    Steve
    We all pay for hosting.

    Can you explain what you mean better??

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  6. #6
    No Longer Banned!
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2008
    Location
    Wilmer, Texas 75172
    Posts
    939
    Quote Originally Posted by BurgerBoy
    We all pay for hosting.

    Can you explain what you mean better??
    BB

    I was saying that right now I use YAHOO ! for hosting. I want to add my site to me server in /var/www/ and When I do, it looks like shit splattered all over my kitchen ceiling. It goes every where.


    So I thought that you add the entire site to /var/www/ but the links not visable either.

    It looks like a geocities site that got hit by a train.

    Steve
    DreamLinux.net | Registered Linux User 453976 | PM me to view our sites. It's a Google thing.

  7. #7
    ABW Founder Haiko de Poel, Jr.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    21,609


    When your done reading that fix your site, then post in the programming corner. .
    Continued Success,

    Haiko
    The secret of success is constancy of purpose ~ Disraeli

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador Daniel M. Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 7th, 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2,082
    I have that book, or an earlier edition of it, and as I recall, it's quite good. I'm a big fan of the Dummies series.
    Daniel M. Clark
    Tech Manager
    Greg Hoffman Consulting

  9. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 29th, 2005, 01:51 PM
  2. Datafeeds & Google: bad "news" - Are you a "thin affiliate" ?
    By heisje in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 29th, 2005, 08:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •