View Poll Results: Merchants Making Purchases - Gassing Us Up

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

2 12.50%
  • No

4 25.00%
  • Just you, and one of your "conspiracy theories" again, Big Chuck.

10 62.50%
  • I am an affiliate manager who does that all the time (he-he)

0 0%
    ABW Ambassador
    Do advertisers (affiliate managers?) who see potential from affiliates to bring them decent click-throughs, and exposure (people seeing their ads) make purchases through those affiliate's links just to gas their (our) heads up into promoting them even more?

Why I ask: I have had advertisers who offer decent commission, good products/services. I will test their links/ads to see how they convert. I will have a sale that comes in, that gets my attention. Then a message from the advertiser(s) stating they have noticed potential in our partnership and they offer an incentive, especially if there is front page promotion, as an example. After making x number of pages, and placing their banners/links within the top fold, I never see another transaction. Click-throughs are great... but that is the extent of it.

Do you think affiliate managers/advertisers will make purchases through their affiliate's links just to gas 'em up?

-----------------------------
    Big Chuck
    Why do some affiliate networks continue to enable parasitic technology providers to STEAL my hard earned revenue?

Hmm, interesting idea...

Konstantin,
    www.GenericGifts.com
    "All your affiliate are belong to us"

ABW Ambassador
    Chuck,

That is an interesting question. But I would not base the success of a program on 1 or 2 orders and a call from the AM. There are significantly more variables involved here. If you really are concerned about the legitimacy of those orders, ask about them. They may or may not tell you they did it, or the truth, but you should base the exposure you give them on the overall program. Look at the long term rather than the short-term single sale.

IamJaloppy