Credit Card Fraud?
    Hi all, I am an affiliate manager with a group that offers web tools for small businesses. We just started selling our subscription services through CPA networks and affiliate networks, and we have run into issue with invalid credit card numbers. This is a major problem for us because we offer a free trial period, and pay commission as soon as someone signs up (without going into specifics, the free trial is the standard for the space we are in). In short, we are currently in a position where we are paying commission, and getting invalid credit card information (we cannot charge the cards). Does anyone have any advice/experience with this sort of thing? We have cut off the affiliates we know are responsible for it, but, that only fixes things for the moment; we obviously want to prevent this from happening in the future...

Isn't there a way to just validate a credit card without charging it?

Each credit card provider has a particular algorithm for the number, and in addition there might be 3rd party services that provide services to just validate credit cards - check with them.

Thank you for the response. Yes, we do use a service to validate, but I do not want to mention the name as I do not want "trash" anyone. They are a major provider of this service, and have a good reputation in the industry. These credit card numbers somehow made it through them.

Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeInc21
    Thank you for the response. Yes, we do use a service to validate, but I do not want to mention the name as I do not want "trash" anyone. They are a major provider of this service, and have a good reputation in the industry. These credit card numbers somehow made it through them.