Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Nunya, Business
    Posts
    23,684
    Check Your Sites If You're Using SiteMeter, It's Causing Them To Crash In IE
    If you're using SiteMeter for tracking, your site is probably having problems for visitors using IE. I just checked a few sites I remember that use it and they all crashed for me when I used IE:

    "A number of web sites that use SiteMeter tracking code to monitor the number of visitors to their site are reporting that the code is causing Internet Explorer browsers to crash when users visit their sites.

    The problem appears to be affecting IE 5.5, 6.0 and 7.0. Internet surfers using IE to access a site that has SiteMeter tracking it receive a message saying the site cannot be loaded and "operation aborted." The issue seems to have begun late afternoon Friday."

    More info:

    http://blog.wired.com/27bstroke6/200...tes-using.html

    http://www.nwprogressive.org/weblog/...bsites-to.html

    Found out because people were having problems with ABW since it uses SiteMeter from this thread:

    http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=108536

  2. #2
    MasterMike HardwareGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,810
    IE isn't crashing sites aren't displaying a can not display page IE works fine. This is a security messure in IE when something on the page is fishy.

    Seems like sitemeter may of updated their javascript or something and is causing boo boos

  3. #3
    Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Rhea's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    6,195
    Looks like they rolled it back to a previous version. Working again now in IE.

  4. #4
    2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner  ecomcity's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    St Clair Shores MI.
    Posts
    17,328
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhea
    Looks like they rolled it back to a previous version. Working again now in IE.
    www.sitemeter.com .... look more like they shut off the server to eliminate IE detecting the spyware security violation. Their site is down but the pre-coded sites are no longer displaying the message and IE ignors the non-working URL.
    Webmaster's... Mike and Charlie

    "What have you done today to put real value into a referral click...from a shoppers viewpoint!"

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador purplebear's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,960
    I guess this is what was happening to me earlier and driving me crazy. lol One of my email accounts is a yahoo one and every time I clicked a link in an email .....oops there it went. Everytime I clicked a link in any of my rss feeds to read more bout somethin....oops there it went lol I'd visit a site, sign in, would attempt to go to another window.....uhhh 3 times I had to shut down my computer, even unplugged it to see if that would help. lol

    Duh? ok....it was early and figured since it was different sites it was happening to.... psssst probably shouldn't fess up but even ran the ole adware thingie....and went and did the when all else fails for me, try the TM housecall to see if they find anything. Nope, nothin found. lol Hope it's safe to go back there now.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador 2busy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Tropical Mountaintop
    Posts
    5,636
    I got rid of SiteMeter over a year ago when they started getting interested in datamining. StatCounter gives so much more detail. I had used SiteMeter for years, but their free accts don't give nearly the detail you get from others.

  7. #7
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by Trust
    If you're using SiteMeter for tracking, your site is probably having problems for visitors using IE. I just checked a few sites I remember that use it and they all crashed for me when I used IE:

    "A number of web sites that use SiteMeter tracking code to monitor the number of visitors to their site are reporting that the code is causing Internet Explorer browsers to crash when users visit their sites.

    The problem appears to be affecting IE 5.5, 6.0 and 7.0. Internet surfers using IE to access a site that has SiteMeter tracking it receive a message saying the site cannot be loaded and "operation aborted." The issue seems to have begun late afternoon Friday."

    More info:

    http://blog.wired.com/27bstroke6/200...tes-using.html

    http://www.nwprogressive.org/weblog/...bsites-to.html

    Found out because people were having problems with ABW since it uses SiteMeter from this thread:

    http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=108536
    I couldn't use the new post link last night on ABW.

    My browser would tell me ABW couldn't be opened and aborted.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  8. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Why You Must Constantly Check Merchant Sites
    By JoyUnltd in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: May 21st, 2009, 03:24 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 2nd, 2004, 04:42 PM
  3. Crash! Crash! Crash! Reformat.. Crash!
    By SamyT in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2004, 08:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •