Affiliate Marketing
    I have been told not to post affiliate links to content rich product pages on ecommerce sites. The theory being that doing so will take potential customers away from your site. What are your thoughts or experiences?

I do have non-product pages such as Resources (links) pages and articles pages. Would it be better to post affiliate links on these pages?

I have joined CJ and Linkshare and have been approved for several advertisers, but have not added any as yet.

As you can tell, I am new to this, so lots of help is needed.

Personally, if I post a link to a site away from mine, I always code it to open in another window. This way the viewer is back on my site when s/he closes the other window.

Thanks. I thought "open in another window" meant something else. Now I know.

http and a telephoto
    Are you a merchant (selling your own goods) or an affiliate (selling other people's goods). If you are a merchant and plan to open an affiliate account where you ask affiliates to sell YOUR goods, they will not promote a site that sends the traffic they send you to sites that they don't make money at. Unless you are paying per click or lead and not per sale.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

I am an ecommerce site selling my own goods. I am considering adding affiliate links to make a commission on selling others products.

http and a telephoto
    Quote Originally Posted by mobil43
    I am an ecommerce site selling my own goods. I am considering adding affiliate links to make a commission on selling others products.