Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Question Regarding Datafeeds vs. Links & Bidding on Keywords
    Hi,

I'm a relative newbie to affiliate marketing. I run an affiliate shoe business. My niche is narrow shoes for women.

I have links to each of my affiliates on the site. I also have their keywords in the keyword sections of my site.

I "think" that my web site provider is "bidding" on keywords for me--I use Homestead searchlight.

What exactly are datafeeds? If they list every type of shoe that each vendor has, I probably don't need that, since I'm focused on women's narrows and I'm not sure that I have the computer memory to load all of that.

Can someone help me understand what I've got and what I'm doing and if I'm on the right track?

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by iloveshoes
    Hi,

I'm a relative newbie to affiliate marketing. I run an affiliate shoe business. My niche is narrow shoes for women.

I have links to each of my affiliates on the site. I also have their keywords in the keyword sections of my site.
    I think you mean links to merchants or advertisers.

I "think" that my web site provider is "bidding" on keywords for me--I use Homestead searchlight.

What exactly are datafeeds? If they list every type of shoe that each vendor has, I probably don't need that, since I'm focused on women's narrows and I'm not sure that I have the computer memory to load all of that.

Can someone help me understand what I've got and what I'm doing and if I'm on the right track?

Thanks!
    data feeds, are products or coupon links etc in a file (text, xml etc) that you
    can download from affiliate networks , or data feed providers and add those
    products to your data base.

What is the size of the computer memory?

I think I have one or two gigs?

What exactly would the datafeed provide me? And, if I have 6 affiliates, could I have a datafeed for each of them?