Affiliate Manager
    Exclamation What does it take to be an Affiliate Manager?
    Hello All,

I am just getting started into this whole affiliate marketing for my company. I have a couple simple questions to ask to get me on my way. What does it take to be a sucessful Affiliate Manager? What are some great programs availiable for me to use to become a sucessful Affiliate Manager? What do all you pros use? I just want to be the best I can be when I put my time into my new adventure, affiliate marketing.

You could start by reading this book. http://www.affiliatemanagerbook.com/

Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

Affiliate Manager Alan Hamilton's Avatar
    Eevelle,

Welcome to the hideout. You mention a couple of "simple" questions and then ask "what does it take to be a great affiliate manager?" LOL

I can see your heart is in the right place, so a couple of quick starters IMO would be:

1.) good listener
    2.) proactive affiliate supporter
    3.) communication communication communication with your affiliates regarding your program, sites, commissions, perks, suggestions and feedback. However, don't pester affiliates with overkill on email or calls. if affiliates find your program fitting for their traffic, they will come. if they don't, all the talking in the world is not going to change the fact that they don't.
    4.) follow through - when you get a call or mail, the faster you respond, the more your affiliates will appreciate you and your company.
    5.) shoot straight with your affiliates. they may not always agree with a decision or policy, but don't treat them like fools by thinking you can out-maneuver or trick them. an aff manager who is shown as not being straight with his/her affiliates quickly sees what a small universe the internet can be.
    6.) if you are an affiliate manager, using your true name is always a real plus for building credibility.