CSS or Tables??

I'm still rather new to this whole affiliate marketing, for the last month or so I've been cramming everything I could find on it.

There is the issue of the delivery vehicle or HTML. I done a couple hobby sites in the past(with frames OMG) but that was years ago and I didn't learn much more than the basics.

Currently I've thrown up a content site to start with, submitted and waiting for the bots and editors to come look.

The wait is excruciating, I've done my homework and attempted "some" SEO for each page. Affiliate links are not included yet because of DMOZ editors. Here I wait and brainstorm my next site, but have hit a wall.

Site layout is my biggest problem, I HATE complex tables.. looking at the code makes me want to not work on it There's the issue of stretching, spacing, positioning, nested tables, whole bunch of tiny positioning tables if you used some sort of layout tool.

When I want to add things I gotta scroll around and decipher which cell I'm actually in and hope it doesn't shift something into the wrong spot or break some other layout you just finished perfecting.

So I read some more and ran across CSS positioning which looks perfect for my needs BUT so many articles mention compatibility issues. What are the pros and cons of CSS vs Tables for site design and layout concerning compatibility and ease of use? (yes that is my question finally)

Sorry if this post was a bit long winded.

I'll give you the short answer to a long question. There are compatibility issues with tables too. Maybe they're not at serious as some of the CSS issues but oh well.

I'm with you on the tables, I've pretty much abandoned them. The nice thing about CSS is if the stylesheet doesn't load, your page is still readable, if a bit ugly.