Here's a GREAT wait to alienate affiliates...
    As an Affiliate Manager, I have also signed up for other affiliate programs to see how they operate, what materials they offer their affiliates, etc, all in an effort to better my own program. I'd been a member of Walmart's affiliate program for no more than 2 months when I received this lovely e-mail today:

Dear Jennifer:

Walmart.com has decided to temporarily remove you from their Affiliate Program due to no click activity over an extended period of time from 10/1/07-10/1/08.

If you are interested in re-applying to the Walmart.com program, you can do so after 14 business days.

Best,
    The Walmart.com Affiliate Management Team
    http://www.linkshare.com
    How ridiculous! My response:

That's a really poor business move. I manage an affiliate program and there's no way we would ever remove someone due to inactivity. At times people sign up for programs and plan to promote them at a later date down the road. Weeks, months, or even a year could pass. I have only been an affiliate of yours for a couple of months now. Your strategy is a great way to alienate people. What harm is it doing you to have inactive affiliates in your system? I would estimate that at least 90% of my affiliates are inactive, but there's potential there. Market to us. Why should we promote your product/brand? The size of your cooperation is a moot point. I hope you will take my feedback into account and consider a change in your policies.
    Does Walmart think that since they're such a large corporation, their affiliates are disposable? I would NEVER deactivate an inactive affiliate in my program.

I'd be interested to read other people's thoughts on this.

ABW Ambassador
    This has been discussed so many times on here. Merchants are always removing inactive affiliates. It makes no sense, but it happens a lot.

Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar