Angry Google knocked me down a notch
    I've been dabbling in AM for a few years; I've set up about 15 sites and had two actually make a little money. The two "successful" sites were ranking very well for the products the were focused upon, but these were not very popular products. The sites were getting about 20 visitors a day, but converted well, so they each made about $150 a month in commissions.

However, a recent Google algorithm change has created a newfound dislike of my sites; they are comprehensive and useful but contain a lot of affiliate links. So my 20 visits a day is down to 2 or 3 and the the exciting little income stream has gone away. I am so busy at my day job that I just don't have time for anything but "fire and forget" sites. Don't get me wrong, I spend weeks on them and pack them with good information (product comparisons), but I'm feeling that the dream of escaping the day job in this manner is dying.

Anyway, has anyone else experienced this with Google recently?

Thanks very much for any feedback

- Steve

If you check out the Google forum here you'll see it is quite common to get 'googleslapped'. Just click on the big A at the top of the page and then scroll down to that forum. Good luck- and welcome to ABW.

Been there a few times.. latest drop was in June after a terrific run.

It forced me to re-think my approach, and I've worked my a** off since then on a new strategy, style of pages, content, etc etc.

Happy to say it has started to pay off this month - while rankings haven't been restored to previous highs, the climb has started & conversions are on the rise.

Take an objective look at your pages, from a "bot" standpoint.. you need to set yourself apart. Google loves original content, that would be a good start. And start reading up on SEO techniques too, they will come in handy.

Have you checked out the sites who replaced you in ranking..? If they update more frequently, you may need to set aside some time for periodic refreshes.