CHD, India
    We need a change, we really do.
    First of all, a BIG Hello to all merchants, moderators, Senior members, members, Affiliate Managers, affiliates and visitors who are reading this thread.

As a new merchant and a new affiliate, I can see both sides of the coin. Considering I'm new to both sides, please do not take my message in negative way and lets try to find and work on solutions to the problems we encounter in this industry.

As an affiliate, I find that a lot of people are interested in earning online by promoting products, however, they don't have the right tools to do so. Most affiliates end up buying packages, scripts, running wordpress blogs and so (which actually works pretty nicely for a few smart people, but that didn't work for me for x,y,z reasons).
    Then a few get lucky and find ABW and similar quality forums or find programs like GoldenCAN. There are a few who love getting deeper into this and love finding their own ways of promoting products. They research a lot, learn programming, do everything the hard way. Then winning the SE is a different game which is pretty tough for affiliates, merchants and who ever makes living off the internet.
    Edited: I have always battled my mind to concentrate on a niche or target a big category. I have found, finding a niche which has good number of searches is a very tough job. But then focusing on a larger market has a different set of requirements and a BIG competition awaits.

As a merchant, I understand that it is not easy to first of all develop a professional portal and then organize employees, policies, products, coupons, manage affiliates, provide seasonal promotional links, SE promotion, Blogs, press releases, company profiling, providing feed to affiliates and God knows what else. It is a tough job, no doubts.