Hello.

Since I view affiliate sites regularly as an Affiliate Managemant Consultant I have been getting redirected on my laptop to Amazon when I visit affiliate sites.

I cannot find anything that I may have downloaded (willingly or not).

So for instance I go to FlamingoWorld.com (Among hundreds of other Affiliate Sites) and there is a VERY quick redirect url on the bottom of the page that I cannot catch, however it gets to this page: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/su...945493-7624705

I also see this at the bottom of my page which is where I got the "Amabot" from:
    amabot-redirect. I researched the word Amabot on Google and got this: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/am...237261-9928645

Has anyone heard of this or know how I can get it off of my computer? Besides the whole hijacking thing.... which is another can of worms!

Thank you for your help

Lizabeth Sorensen
    Affiliate Management Consulting
    liz@emerchantconsulting.com

[This message was edited by Lizabeth Sorensen on November 18, 2003 at 03:53 PM.]

I don't know, but I'd like to find out. If you do figure it out, please let us all know.

Thanks!

-patrice

patrice.colancecco.milligan
    affiliate.manager
    eastwoodcompany.com
    e: patrice@eastwoodco.com
    v: 610.323.2200x2206
    aim: patricemilligan
    ::visit.our.private.forum.at.abw::

Amabot is a Beta of their "what's hot" script.

If you look at http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/su...199531-1004632 (you were probably looking at sporting equipment or the such when you noted the url) and mouseover the topmost left image it will show amabot in the addy bar, the amabot redirect is called to include this script.

<font size="2" face="Verdana">Haiko

The secret of success is constancy of purpose. ~ Disraeli
    </font></p>

I am wondering A, how this redirect got on my computer and B, if anyone knows how to get it off and C, why are they redirecting from affiliate sites.