Is a datafeed appropriate for my business?
    Hi All,

I'm a new merchant trying to correctly set up my affiliate program.

I am still trying to figure out this data feed thing. Seems like you create a database with image urls and product info to send out to affiliates. They can then create automated pages displaying your products.

I am selling wedding invitations (you can personalize them right on my site) and all the designs are exclusive to my store. Basically, I do not want anyone reselling my designs or products as their own, or advertising them at lower prices through their own "store" (not sure this is possible, since everything has to be purchased through my store anyways).

So, are datafeeds still relevant to my site? Sorry if this question sounds stupid, but I am still learning.

Thanks,

Autumn

If you have more than about 20 or 30 designs then a datafeed can be useful. Check with the network you sign up with though as the format for a datafeed is different for each one.
    Greg Rice Affiliate Program Management
    www.gocmc.com info(AT)gocmc.com | 330-259-1223

Join us! - MiNeeds.com | DiscountCandleShop/CheeseSupply | Feng Shui Plaza

ABW Ambassador
    The datafeed that you create will be for affiliates to presnt your products in a way as to encourage people to visit your site and buy your products.

There is always the possibility that some affiliates will use your datafeed in a way that is not good for your business. That could happen to you even if you do not have a datafeed though, as people can scrape your content from your site anyway and use it for their own site.

Having a datafeed is a good idea because most affiliates are going to work to a mutual benefit.

Thanks for the help..

I have about 45 designs, and each design has 5 related products, so it ends up being a number in the hundreds.

Thanks for the advice. I will go ahead with the datafeed. I suppose I could always put some restrictions on promotion in my program terms.