Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    Question error message on 2nd level
    When I run the program for 100 records, it is working fine. but when i run it for 500 records, i get the following

    Error processing record #4: Can't create that directory
    20-18-18v-2-Tool-Cordless-Power-Tool-Combo-Kit-Bosch-CPK20-20-18-18v-2-Tool-Cordless-Power-Tool-Combo-Kit-Bosch-CPK20-......

    I've rechecked my output query, and the fields that webmerge is using. There are no fields with duplicate data, and I'm just wondering if there is a field size limit? However, it seems to be accepting longer text, I really just don't know.

    It seems to fail at the 2nd level. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    g

  2. #2
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    I believe all current supported OSes have a limit of 255 characters for the names of a folder. Seems you have a field value that exceeds that, and while WebMerge truncates such values for use in file names perhaps it's missing that error-check for folder names.

    I'll look into this, and if that's the case get a build to you ASAP to test.

    Which OS are you running?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    Thanks for the quick response.

    I'm running windows xp.

    it is so weird, because my fields that I output to text look like this:
    Category SubCategory Combined
    Cordless Tools Cordless Combo Kits Cordless Tools/Cordless Combo Kits

    There are no really long data in the field names in the output query. It just seems like it is doing it in webmerge.

    g

  4. #4
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Where did the source file come from and what are the delimiter settings in the Sources tab?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    the name of the item is:
    Kawasaki 840056 Black 19.2V 4-Tool Combo Cordless Tool Kit

    perhaps it is because of the period? It appears to be bringing in data from the item description. I'm sooooo confused.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    it's from commission junction.

    pipe delimited

  7. #7
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Are text values quoted?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    I've tried it both ways. quoted and not quoted, both pipe delimited.

  9. #9
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Did you see my note in the other thread about this issue?:
    http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=112997
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    yes, I got your other response.

    I was using frontpage for this, but it did keep adding characters in. So I started doing my modifying in Internet Explorer, view source.

    I started off with Frank's sample templates.

    Now, besides that problem, I cannot get it to build the folders.

    Seems like the harder I work on this, the further away from success I get.

    I will re-import Frank's detail template again.

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    Smile Got It!
    Thanks for all your help and patience!

    I have the basic webmerge working.

    Now I only have one "want to do" item.
    On the subcategory page, it shows all the items, which is fine, but I would like it to be one list, with the pic to the left and the text to the right. I tried dividing it into a table with columns, but it still shows many items out to the right and way down the page. Is there some other way to have it show like this:

    picture name, description, price
    picture name, description, price

    etc

    Any help on this would be appreciated.

    Ginger

  12. #12
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Glad the tags and folder issues were resolved.

    On the build order issue it's hard to say without seeing your tags, but if you include put <br>s or <p>s inside your [WM-Record] and [/WM-Record] tags you should see the items built downward.
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  13. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    Thanks! I'll try that.

    but in the meantime, my linking back from subcategory to category quit working.

    I'm so frustrated, as I've been working with this for 2 weeks.

  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    Lightbulb
    DUH!!!
    dumbo me.

    I had taken out the replace(" ","-")
    so it was looking for a filename with a space in it, when the actual filename had a hyphen in it.

    navigation is working fine, when you call an ace an ACE.

    For the other problem on the subcategory template, where I want it to list one record, then the subsequent records below it, putting in a <br> did not work.

    I will keep working on that issue. And the picture sizing.

    Thanks ever so much!

    Ginger

  15. #15
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    > For the other problem on the subcategory template, where I want it to list one
    > record, then the subsequent records below it, putting in a <br> did not work.

    Can you post that portion of your template? Once we see what you have we may be better able to make a recommendation.

    > I will keep working on that issue. And the picture sizing.

    What do you need with picture sizing?
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  16. #16
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    here's the code. As for the pictures, I just want them to be all one size, probably 125 x 125 or something like that, for this subcategory page. On my navigation problem on other posting, I think it has to do with sorting. My output is sorted by category, subcategory, sku, but when I run webmerge, it puts like 3 categories of "air" separately, and is not alphabetized. I'm not sure why.

    Thanks for all your help. Oh, btw, I did make a backup of my working files, up to a point, so I don't have to keep re-importing frank's and rebuilding it the way I need.

    Ginger




    <h1 align="center"><font color="#800000" size="7">Go-Net-Ads.com</font></h1>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    <b><a href="../[WM-FIELD: CATEGORY replace(" ","-") nolink].html">
    <font size="4" color="#000080">Back to Category Index</font></a></center>
    </div>


    <div align="center">
    <center>
    <table border="3" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" style="border-collapse: collapse"

    bordercolor="#111111" width="800" id="AutoNumber6" bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
    <tr>
    <td>
    <div align="center">
    <center>
    <table border="0" cellpadding="10" cellspacing="0" style="border-collapse:

    collapse" bordercolor="#111111" width="100%" id="AutoNumber7">
    <tr><td valign="top">

    <div align="center">
    <center>
    <dt><font size="6" color="#800080">&nbsp;</font><b><font color="#CC0000"

    size="6">[WM-FIELD:
    SUBCATEGORY
    nolink]</font></b></dt>
    </center>
    </div>
    <div align="center">
    <center>
    <dt><font size="4" color="#000080">Click below to
    view individual products</font></dt>
    </center>
    </div>
    </td></tr>
    <tr><td valign="top">

    [WM-RECORD cols=4 width=800]<center>[WM-IMAGEPATH:
    IMAGEURL raw]<BR>
    <blockquote><font color="#000080" size="2">[WM-FIELD: NAME]</font><BR>
    <font color="#800000"><b><font color="#CC0000">$[WM-FIELD: PRICE

    nolink]</font></a></b></font></blockquote><BR>
    [/WM-RECORD]
    </td></tr></table><BR>
    </center>
    </div>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>

    </center>
    </div>

    </body>

  17. #17
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,327
    what are you trying to do? I just copied that code and run in on some data, and it comes out in 4 columns.

    What do you actually want?

  18. #18
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,913
    Thanks for checking that out, Julian.

    ghoffman146, it sounds like you may be onto something with regard to sorting. Check out the notes on the Sort feature at the bottom of the WebMerge Help page on the Sources tab.

    For images, you'll get the best results in terms of image quality and speedy download if you're able to make copies of those in the desired size. But if that's impractical (such as when working from a feed where you may not have the images yourself), you can have WebMerge generate the IMG tag with a specified width and height as shown in this example from the WebMerge Help page for that tag:

    [WM-ImagePath: ImageFile width="100" height="100]
    Richard Gaskin
    Developer of WebMerge: Publish any data feed on any site
    http://www.fourthworld.com

  19. #19
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    I see the problem is only with the image sizes.

    many thanx, again, it is just user error.

  20. #20
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,327
    the only problem with resizing the images is that if some of your images are not scaled down correctly, they will look terrible.

    Some merchants do not have consistent image sizes. So making a 300*300 scaled down to a 100*100 is fine, but if an image is 300*500, then making it 100*100 looks bad

  21. #21
    Newbie
    Join Date
    April 30th, 2006
    Posts
    20
    what would you recommend then?

    I have images that are normal sizes, and then there are those that are 2-3 inches tall or very wide.

    I was thinking of using FrontPage to put in an image, then link it to that field. That way all the images would be in that box and the same size. But if that is not a good idea, then I won't attempt it.

    Ginger

  22. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Why Would I Join as a 2nd Level Affiliate?
    By LoneWolf in forum Newbie Affiliate FAQs & Helpful Articles
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: December 16th, 2010, 09:07 AM
  2. Merchants supporting 2nd-level commissions
    By yourpal999 in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: April 27th, 2004, 10:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •