Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador joyaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 27th, 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    516
    Down? Are your shops loading?
    My shops won't load right now. Anyone else having problems?

    "The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,744
    I'm not seeing any problems.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador joyaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 27th, 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    516
    Hmmm, thanks, must be my web host.


    "The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."

  4. #4
    notary sojac Herb ԿԬ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Central/Western NY State
    Posts
    7,741
    Cool
    checked one of mine, worked OK

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador joyaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 27th, 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    516
    This is horrible. All 320+ shops are not loading and my host (I Power) has been no help so far. I'm on hold with a level 1 techie and I'm begging for a level 2 person.

    Anyone else use I Power for hosting and PHP popshops?

    "The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."

  6. #6
    Beachy Bill's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 20th, 2005
    Posts
    8,266
    Everything is working fine here.

    I have never tried IPower. What plan do you have with them, the Pro Plan or the Virtual Private Server?
    Bill / Marketing Blog @ 12PM - Current project: Resurrecting my "baby" at South Baltimore..
    Cute Personal Checks and Business Checks
    If you are too busy to laugh you are too busy.

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador joyaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 27th, 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    516
    I have the Pro Plan and it's worked great for over a year just by adding "AddType application/x-httpd-php .htm .html" to the htaccess file.

    Now all of a sudden they all stop working?

    I'm in the process of changing all my pages to JS shops. This could be an all-nighter.

    "The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."

  8. #8
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by joyaz
    I have the Pro Plan and it's worked great for over a year just by adding "AddType application/x-httpd-php .htm .html" to the htaccess file.

    Now all of a sudden they all stop working?

    I'm in the process of changing all my pages to JS shops. This could be an all-nighter.
    I assume you mean you're changing your page calls to javascript?

    If you are you're making a big mistake.

    Using JS the information is NOT written on your pages in the page html. To a Search Engine your page is blank and won't appear in the search results.

    Not in Search results = no customers = no sales.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  9. #9
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Quote Originally Posted by joyaz
    This is horrible. All 320+ shops are not loading and my host (I Power) has been no help so far. I'm on hold with a level 1 techie and I'm begging for a level 2 person.

    Anyone else use I Power for hosting and PHP popshops?
    That's could be your problem. They are an awful host.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador joyaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 27th, 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    516
    Yeah, I know the JS is not good for SEO but at the moment it's either that or HTML and I can't get additional pages with HTML, right?

    I guess I've been lucky so far with I Power. Up until now (past several years at least) I haven't had problems with them.

    If anyone has a good recommendation for a host where .html file extension pages work with PHP snippets inside, let me know. I don't really want to have to change all my pages to .php.

    "The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."

  11. #11
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    I have this in my .htaccess file at hostgator and the php works fine in my htm and html pages.

    Code:
    AddHandler application/x-httpd-php5 .htm
    AddHandler application/x-httpd-php5 .html
    You'll notice the 5 after php - php5.

    I didn't have the 5 and my host up-graded from php4 to php5 and the php on my pages stopped working. They told me to add a 5 after the php - I did - and my pages started working again.

    Maybe your host went to php5 and that's what happened to you.

    I host at hostgator.com.

    I have php in all of my htm and html pages and they all work.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador joyaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 27th, 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    516
    This is what WAS working in my htaccess file up until yesterday ...

    AddType application/x-httpd-php .htm .html

    (AddHandler never worked with them. I'm experimenting now, but I wonder if I might need to append a "5" in the AddType line. I'm trying all combinations.)

    What was REALLY strange was even the JS shops were not loading until I tried the modification to the htaccess file. I think I'm getting closer to pinpointing the problem and it may all lie within my htaccess file.

    "The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."

  13. #13
    ABW Ambassador joyaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 27th, 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    516
    htaccess experts ...

    I've tried all of the following and none are getting PHP shops to dispay.

    AddType application/x-httpd-php .htm .html
    AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .htm .html
    AddType application/x-httpd-php5 .htm .html
    AddHandler application/x-httpd-php5 .htm .html
    NONE (removing the line entirely from the htaccess file)


    Any other suggestions (other than a new host)? At least with the AddHandler call, the shops I changed to Javascript are loading. Why those would be affected by the AddType call I don't understand.

    The JS is just a quick fix till I can get PHP working again. Thanks everyone for your help!

    -------------
    Update: PHP has magically started working again in my pages. Guess last night I should have just gone to bed!
    Last edited by joyaz; November 18th, 2008 at 11:00 AM.

    "The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."

  14. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. PopShops - Problem with Shops loading.
    By msladybug in forum Industry Tools & Services
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 5th, 2011, 02:14 PM
  2. Popshops shops not loading?
    By meadowmufn in forum PopShops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 8th, 2009, 12:04 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 9th, 2009, 06:00 PM
  4. not loading
    By peterbndrs in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 17th, 2008, 12:37 AM
  5. Main Popshops shops not loading
    By writerguy in forum PopShops
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 11th, 2007, 01:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •