Newbie question on redirects
    Hi.

I'm not a programmer, I'm a writer. Been working for about 15 years doing B2B marketing communications and have a couple of nonfiction book titles out, dead tree stuff.

I'm now preparing to self-publish a collection of ebooks with embedded affiliate links. General audience readers for the most part.

This is a "long haul" project -- I'm not trying to make zillions overnight -- the plan is long term residual income as these books are passed along by people online.

My concern is that the books could quite possibly outlive affiliate and merchant programs. So I am thinking -- looking for feedback here -- that I should use redirects so that if that no matter what, my readers will have working links to products they are likely to need, based on the subject matter of the book.

I've been reading the threads on this forum and there are a couple of areas where I would welcome you guys' input.

First, can this be done without straying into gray hat territory? I don't want to give even the appearance that I'm doing anything surreptitious or underhanded. I'm presenting these links as a service to my readers so anything I do has to be compatible with that. I'm assuming the answer is yes, but would appreciate some straight talk on that point, thanks.

(btw, I'm not worried about anyone else changing my links downstream, as my understanding is that once my book is compiled, it's difficult for anyone to tinker with the source code. That's what the Ebook Pro tech support guy told me anyway.)

Second, I'd appreciate some very very basic help with the mechanics of this. I assume it's something I could learn to do but I have trouble following sometimes when it's programmers talking to programmers.

I know that I want the redirects to be something that is handled from my own server -- if I understand correctly, some link cloaking software would run the redirects through a third party's server -- is that correct?