Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Rhea's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    6,195
    New monitor = resolution problem. HELP!
    This weekend I bought an LCD monitor. I like the monitor just fine but the recommended resolution of 1440 x 900 isn't an option in the list of resolutions available on my PC. So I've set it to a similar resolution but the picture is distorted and this is making me nuts. I do a lot of graphics work on my PC so a distorted picture is not acceptable.

    Does anybody know how to fix a problem like this? Can I download the specs for 1440x900 to my PC? Can I change the default on my monitor? Help! I'm so stinking confused.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    October 11th, 2008
    Posts
    69
    I would set your screen resolution to 1024x768 and then reboot (so the monitor will reset it's resolution). This is an extremely common resolution set and it will get you going. If you want to do higher resolutions still do this first so you know that the monitor is working okay.

  3. #3
    Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Rhea's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    6,195
    Thank you, openrsm! Your suggestion worked beautifully. No more distortion! Yay!

    But I still wonder if there's some way I can load the params for the 1440 x 900 resolution to my PC.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    October 11th, 2008
    Posts
    69
    The short answer is yes. The long answer depends on the monitor, PC, which OS, etc.

    I would see if there is a definition on a CD that came with the monitor or downloadable from the manufacturer of the monitor that is suitable for your OS. That would be the first thing I'd look for.

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador VampireSkunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 24th, 2007
    Location
    South East Asia
    Posts
    1,045
    The available resolutions depend on the grahics card and/or graphics driver. If you know what graphics card you have you might try the manufacturer's website to see if an updated driver is available for download.

  6. #6
    Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Rhea's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    6,195
    Hey, vampireskunk, thanks for the info. I have Windows XP. Not sure how to find out what my graphics card is though. Checked Control Panel and didn't see anything useful there. Any suggestions?

  7. #7
    notary sojac Herb ԿԬ's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Central/Western NY State
    Posts
    7,741
    Cool
    sometimes Microsoft Update detects a possible need and offers a newer driver for it. sometimes it works. if not, there is a rollback feature for the driver in the screen properties.

  8. #8
    Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Rhea's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    6,195
    Thanks Herb! Microsoft Update doesn't detect a problem. I was planning to buy a new PC next year anyway so hopefully that will correct any issues my "old" PC has with my spiffy new monitor.


  9. #9
    Visual Artist & ABW Ambassador lostdeviant's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 7th, 2007
    Location
    Cuautitln, Edo. de Mxico
    Posts
    1,725
    While the fix depends on OS, driver, specific hardware etc., I'd suggest switching to 1280x960. It isn't as small as 1024x786 and looks great on an LCD of 1440x900.

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador 2busy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Tropical Mountaintop
    Posts
    5,636
    In XP you can right-click on MyComputer and then click "Properties" to look at the Hardware
    or
    in ControlPanel click on device manager and scroll down to graphics card and then right click for properties.

  11. #11
    Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Rhea's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    6,195
    Thanks 2busy, but guess what? There is nothing in Device Manager for a graphics card. Is that hilarious, or what? (Any thoughts on what else a graphics card might be called?)

  12. #12
    ABW Ambassador 2busy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Tropical Mountaintop
    Posts
    5,636
    Look for Display Adapters

  13. #13
    ABW Ambassador VampireSkunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 24th, 2007
    Location
    South East Asia
    Posts
    1,045
    There might be some specific control panel for your card (or chip - it could be an on-board graphics chip rather than a slot-in card as such)

    for instance, I have an nvidia card, and an nvidia control panel

    It's worth looking in the sys tray, at the bottom right, to the left of the clock, to see if there is any graphics control panel there

  14. #14
    Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Rhea's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    6,195
    2busy, I did find it under Display Adapters.


    When I ran update drivers the software informed me that it couldn't find anything to improve on the existing drivers. Guess I'll look online. At least now I know what's driving my monitor.

    Are we having fun yet?

    Thanks everybody!

  15. #15
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    DXDiag will give you information about your video adapter. Go to Start, Run, type in dxdiag and press enter (or click Ok). When the diagnostic tool window appears, click the Display tab. The video adapter name, manufacturer, resident video memory size, and a few other bits of info will display. Then, look around online for appropriate drivers for your adapter.

    Before installing a new driver, you might want to check system restore to make sure it's turned on so you can easily go back if the driver fouls up your computer. Right click My Computer, Properties, and System Restore tab. Make sure the checkbox (Turn off System Restore on all drives) is NOT CHECKED.



    X

  16. #16
    Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Rhea's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    6,195
    Hey Ed, that was cool! I located the chip maker's web site with driver updates but the list of chips seems to require more detailed info than I can find with dxdiag.

    I think at this point I'll phone the guy who built my PC and ask him to figure it out. Maybe he will, maybe he won't, but if he doesn't he won't get my next order for a PC (which will include the mother of all graphics boards).

    You guys are the BEST!!!

  17. #17
    Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Rhea's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    6,195
    Oh, one more thing, do you guys think the driver scan on this web site would be safe to use? Ever heard of it?

    http://www.liutilities.com/products/freescans/

  18. #18
    ABW Ambassador Boom or Bust's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 3rd, 2008
    Posts
    3,955
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhea
    Hey Ed, that was cool! I located the chip maker's web site with driver updates but the list of chips seems to require more detailed info than I can find with dxdiag.

    I think at this point I'll phone the guy who built my PC and ask him to figure it out. Maybe he will, maybe he won't, but if he doesn't he won't get my next order for a PC (which will include the mother of all graphics boards).

    You guys are the BEST!!!
    In that case you'll have to pull the board and look.

    As for an online scan, don't think I'll offer advice in either direction. I will say that I'm very leary of online scans. You might search for comments either way by people who have used the service...



    X

  19. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. New Year's Resolution
    By Glenn - Prosper.com in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 5th, 2011, 02:24 AM
  2. What Screen Resolution you're using now?
    By Mr. Sal in forum Voting Booth
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: July 31st, 2005, 10:32 PM
  3. Do you have a NoteBook? What's the resolution?
    By RedFish in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: November 30th, 2003, 10:48 AM
  4. What Screen Resolution you use?
    By RedFish in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: April 29th, 2003, 05:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •