Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar
    Hijacked email Address- Do You respond to Indignant Recipients?
    There have been discussions here in the past about having your email address hijacked by spammers, but I do not recall this issue being discussed: Do you respond to indignant recipients of those spam emails that look like they came from you?

I received this message a little while ago:

I do not know you, I do not have a prior relationship with your company, and I have no idea why you would think that I would be interested in an offer like this...I'm a photographer, NOT A SPAMMER (or "marketer" as you like to call yourselves) This email violates the CAN-SPAM Act and has been reported to the Federal Trade Commission. It would be in your best interest to remove me from future mailings.
    I'm debating about deleting and forgetting it, or responding and trying to explain that it was not me, but that I am also a victim of the spammer.

By responding with another email, it could be compounding the problem.

Thoughts?
    Since June 10, 2012 a vegan aarf but still writing the Hound Dawg Sports Blog
    "If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?" -John Wooden;
    "Raj, there’s no place for truth on the internet." -Howard Wolowitz[/SIZE]

Tough call... I'd be leery though.... I've recently had a rash of comments to my blogs that follow this pattern:

Your site has been added to our list of spammers because of suspicious activity. To remove your site, send your URL to (idiot spammer's email)

I panicked for about a nanosecond when I read the first one.... pulled my trigger finger back in time and investigated.... apparently it's just a scam to get active email addresses..... I'm not sure if they're trying to pair them with the URL some way in order to hack the site or not, but I'm not about to respond to any of them.... I've gotten several since then and they all wind up in the spam bucket.....