Newbie Website Questions
    I'm new to the affiliate scene and i have been messing around with Macromedia Dreamweaver 8 for several days just playing around and i've come up with a very very simple template for an affiliate site, however it has no search or category functionality.
    When i go snooping around other affiliate sites i see that they have basic search functionality and most often have categories in their sites.

I was just wondering if anyone can give me some tips on adding those functions to my website, is there any other way than creating all the categories and then manualy putting each product into the different categories, because i really don't fancy spending all that time doing that. :3

Tried looking at PopShops or GoldenCan? You need to join programs for the merchants who sell the products you want to feature, but then you sign up and they offer ways to pop in entire stores full of stuff with a few minutes of work. Of course it's up to you to make the site worth visiting, something unique and adding value to the visitors. That's what makes the difference between lots of traffic and barely hangin' in there.

um...wow i had no idea thanks for informing me, is this how most people make their shops when running an affiliate site?

also, quick question, if i attach a blog (with product reviews and discounts etc.) will that be spidered by google and will i MAYBE gain a higher page rank with that? i was planning to do it anyway but i was just wondering :3 is that the content you were talking about?

PopShops and GoldenCan are just two ways to showcase products. Better ways would be to study up on php and MySQL and use datafeeds from the merchants. So much depends on your level of learning that it's pretty hard for anyone to tell you what you should be working on. Another great tool is WebMerge, they have a forum here too. You should be reading all over the place here, to help you determine where your skills intersect with what you want to do.